Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sands of kahana, maui

Paradise

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Great location, beach, snorkeling, paddling, lots of turtles, views. Coming back in winter to see the whales. 2 bedroom unit here as big as our house back home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Great and Relaxing

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Would have been better if there was air conditioning . It was relaxing to stay but hot in the evening
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you for your visit and feedback. We are delighted we could earn your highest rating and apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced. Our "natural air conditioning" in the form of trade winds is usually enough to keep things cool, and we are sorry if they proved insufficient to the task on your visit. Conversely, we are happy the heat did not detract from your overall enjoyment. Mahalo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from placerville ca

Posted Sep 17, 2017
3rd time here.. had 2 bedroom great ocean view very comfortable.. quiet and relaxing. Would recommend it
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, Marcia! Thank you so much for returning to Sands of Kahana. We are happy you had another satisfying visit. Your recommendation and highest rating are much appreciated, and we look forward to seeing you again sometime soon. Mahalo!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

under inconvenient construction!

Posted Jul 26, 2017
This was our 2nd time staying at the Sands of Kahana. Our first experience was great, even though they were under construction for the bar and grill at this time. Given our previous experience we decided to stay 2 weeks this trip. Wow! Our first warning should have been when contractors for other units tied up the one and only elevator, as we tried to bring our luggage to the 4th floor. This took us over 20 minutes just to get the elevator to the ground floor. We ended up having to carry some of our heavy bags and Costco groceries up 4 flights of stairs. Upon entering the unit and placing our stuff down on the kitchen cabinet, we noticed that the counter was infested with ants. This must have been not a single unit issue, because a few days later a notice was stuck on the elevator stating that all units were going to be sprayed with pesticides. When asked that our unit be excluded due to severe allergies, and the fact we didn't want any of our food or items near what ever chemicals they were using, this request was ignored. They told us the room wasn't sprayed, but my oldest daughter was back at the unit not knowing what was going on said they came in and sprayed everywhere. Our concerns were never their bother. On top of these minor inconveniences the construction would start at 7am, dirty tile cutting water flooded the stairwell and the elevator was basically used for the contractors only, so we got a lot of exercise using the stairs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your return visit and feedback. Please accept our apologies for any challenges you experienced during our comprehensive guest unit renovation. We are confident the end result will be well worth the temporary inconvenience! We are also sorry if we sprayed your room for ants against your wishes. We would not have proceeded with the process otherwise. Thanks again for your visit and feedback. We wish we had made a more favorable impression.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth

Nothing Special

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Called maintenance to fix a couple of things. Center stairwell from parking garage channeled noise to bedrooms. No a/c. Not worth the resort fees. Miniscule beach, no snorkeling. Nothing special about location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, Frank. Thank you for your visit and feedback. We wish we had made a more favorable impression.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017
No A/C otherwise the room was spacious but outdated. Staff was friendly
5 out of 5
by Mark

Spacious rooms & great front desk

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
Don't let the unappealing elevator areas deter you. The place is a bit old but rooms are huge & clean. Great views, good amenities, decent restaurant/bar & a good beach right out front. Front desk folks are great, maintenance and housekeeping staff could be a little nicer like everyone else on the Island.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, Mark! Thank you for choosing Sands of Kahana and sharing your kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed a five-star experience. It is great to know our front desk made a favorable impression for courteous customer service and wish our housekeeping and apologize if our housekeeping and maintenance staff were anything less than completely cordial. Thanks again for visiting Sands of Kahana!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

Nice area on Maui!

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Close to stores and places to eat.
We have stayed at this condo facility many times over 40 years. This is the first time we felt we wouldn't be back. In part, the hotel is aged and the design with the stairwell in the middle of the units creates terrible noise for anyone in the second bedrooms at least in building 4. The patio was unusable because the drainage for the excess rain is inappropriate for the amount of rain. It tends to slope to the middle instead of to the side where the drain spots are. We did not like the design in our two bedroom unit. It had the master bedroom open to the downstairs which made it impossible for us to go to bed before anyone else. Noise travels upward and we went several nights without sleep! Our adult children were in the second bedroom and also went without sleep because of the excess noise in the stairwell and hallways due to the staff and garbage trucks, etc. Since we went through Expedia, we didn't have a choice of rooms and the facility was full! It was very busy on the beach which is losing ground due to erosion so it was next to impossible to find a comfortable place on the beach. We will not likely stay there again. This makes us very sad since we have such great memories of this place!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, Cindy! Thank you for returning to Sands of Kahana. We truly appreciate your loyalty and are disappointed you are not likely to stay with us again. It has been our pleasure to serve you over the years, and we wish you many more wonderful visits to Maui wherever you choose to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Met all of our needs

Posted Dec 31, 2016
The Sands of Kahana was perfect for our family. It has a great location and the rooms were plenty spacious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, Kris! Thank you for choosing Sands of Kahana. We are delighted we were the perfect choice for your family and truly appreciate your highest rating. It was our pleasure to serve you. Mahalo!