Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017
No A/C otherwise the room was spacious but outdated. Staff was friendly
5 out of 5
by Mark

Spacious rooms & great front desk

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
Don't let the unappealing elevator areas deter you. The place is a bit old but rooms are huge & clean. Great views, good amenities, decent restaurant/bar & a good beach right out front. Front desk folks are great, maintenance and housekeeping staff could be a little nicer like everyone else on the Island.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, Mark! Thank you for choosing Sands of Kahana and sharing your kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed a five-star experience. It is great to know our front desk made a favorable impression for courteous customer service and wish our housekeeping and apologize if our housekeeping and maintenance staff were anything less than completely cordial. Thanks again for visiting Sands of Kahana!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

Nice area on Maui!

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Close to stores and places to eat.
We have stayed at this condo facility many times over 40 years. This is the first time we felt we wouldn't be back. In part, the hotel is aged and the design with the stairwell in the middle of the units creates terrible noise for anyone in the second bedrooms at least in building 4. The patio was unusable because the drainage for the excess rain is inappropriate for the amount of rain. It tends to slope to the middle instead of to the side where the drain spots are. We did not like the design in our two bedroom unit. It had the master bedroom open to the downstairs which made it impossible for us to go to bed before anyone else. Noise travels upward and we went several nights without sleep! Our adult children were in the second bedroom and also went without sleep because of the excess noise in the stairwell and hallways due to the staff and garbage trucks, etc. Since we went through Expedia, we didn't have a choice of rooms and the facility was full! It was very busy on the beach which is losing ground due to erosion so it was next to impossible to find a comfortable place on the beach. We will not likely stay there again. This makes us very sad since we have such great memories of this place!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, Cindy! Thank you for returning to Sands of Kahana. We truly appreciate your loyalty and are disappointed you are not likely to stay with us again. It has been our pleasure to serve you over the years, and we wish you many more wonderful visits to Maui wherever you choose to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Met all of our needs

Posted Dec 31, 2016
The Sands of Kahana was perfect for our family. It has a great location and the rooms were plenty spacious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, Kris! Thank you for choosing Sands of Kahana. We are delighted we were the perfect choice for your family and truly appreciate your highest rating. It was our pleasure to serve you. Mahalo!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will never stay here again

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Orbitz
Upon arriving at approx 12am Hawaii time, I paid extra fees in cash and then was refused check-in. I was with my 11 year old son and we had nowhere else to stay that night. I was able to check in the next morning, check the fees again and got the key. Upon going to our room, we were told the elevator was broken and would be fixed in an hour. I had a half cast on my knee so going up 5 flights of stairs was almost impossible and ruined our trip. Everyday I was promised the elevator would be fixed and it wasn't. Upon check out, the elevator was still not working.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

frequent traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
My room was about as far from the beach as is possible when the resort was only modestly occupied. Street noise was impossible and no air conditioning so could not get rid of the noise, even late at night. Not like it was 20 some years ago. Not going back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your visit and feedback. We are sorry you did not have a more enjoyable experience. Although it may have seemed the resort was modestly occupied, we can tell you that our particular units here have a more than 90 percent occupancy rate year-round. As a result, we do not guarantee the availability of specific room locations. It is regrettable you won't be staying with us again, and we hope you will reconsider your decision.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2016
The hotel room overall was nice abs the staff was awesome! The fridge door broke abdcer called and reported it however they never came to fix it so we did have a broken fridge for 3 days also the room did not have any air conditioning so it was very hot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha. Thank you for visiting Sands of Kahana. We are pleased our spacious accommodations and friendly staff made a favorable impression. Please accept our sincere apology for not responding to your service call. This falls well below our standard for prompt and attentive customer service and we are sorry for the inconvenience. Thanks again for your visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Orbitz
Great shows food and service all day or nite close to the beach and shopping areas the staff there was always helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you for choosing Sands of Kahana. We are pleased you had an enjoyable visit and truly appreciate your highest rating. Mahalo!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No air conditioning

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on CheapTickets
This room has washer, dryer, pots and pans and everything you need except for air conditioning which is necessary in hot and humid weather. if you need something from room service you have to repeatedly ask them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Very spacious, clean, and super clean. The pools and the hot tubs were great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you so much for choosing Sands of Kahana. We are happy you had an enjoyable visit and honored we could earn your highest rating. Mahalo!