Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco Bay Area

Great host and staff

Posted Sep 18, 2016
We spent three nights at Overscaig House in August. Our host Martin was genial, helpful, and responsive, offering great insights and advice on day trips in the area. We particularly enjoyed nearby forest and river walks, together with Dunrobin Castle and the falconry demonstration featuring Peregrine Falcons, Gyrfalcons, Eagle Owls, and several other raptors. Bird feeders on the patio overlooking the Loch attracted a wide variety of colorful birds throughout the day. Food in the restaurant was excellent, especially the soups!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Nice and quiet location. The staff are very friendly and the food is excellent. I really needed a break to recoup in a busy traveling schedule and this fit the bill perfectly. However, if you plan to stay in during the day, stay out of the way of their cleaning! It's quite an involved process, which is good.
5 out of 5
by Adam from Airdrie

Very welcoming.

Posted Sep 26, 2015 on Hotels
My one night at Overscaig House was very good,the room was very clean and had everything I required, the bed was really comfortable. Martin was a very good host,breakfast menu covered every taste. Would book again if visiting area and would recommend to family and friends.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Nettes kleines Hotel. Allerdings sehr abgelegen. Sehr netter Hotelbesitzer. Er ist im Hotel Mädchen für alles.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

stunning views from breakfast table

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Friendly staff who made us very welcome even though we turned up with 2 bikes and during a bit of rain - so wet all over!
5 out of 5
by Karen from Sydney

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels
Once we found the hotel we couldn't fault it. Everything was perfect. Friendly helpful staff, clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dundee

spotless and friendly home away from home

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Owners were looking out for us when we arrived and helped us in with our luggage away from the midges. Staff were very friendly and accommodating, good bar, excellent food (both breakfast and evening meal), lounge was a real home away from home. Strummed a little guitar with owner one evening. Saw some other patrons also being well looked after with prepared packed lunches - great place to stay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tasmania

Spectacular Location

Posted Jul 14, 2014
This is a wonderful small hotel in a very remote and beautiful part of Scotland. The service was excellent as was the food. A very special experience.
5 out of 5
by Chris from West Sussex

Remote hotel on Loch Shin

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Everything but particularly the friendly staff and the general ambience of the hotel. Plenty of safe areas to walk our dog by the loch.
Cons: Get rid of the midges !!
Location: Remote on loch side. Popular base for fishermen.
We couldn't fault the hotel. The only downside was the midges (middle of June).