Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel was clean and the bedding waswell laundered

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
the staff greeted us very politely and friendly,they where very helpful as to our needs and the food was excellent.the hotel is situated at the side of a loch and the scenery is stunning
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from warrington

Great Hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Staff and location
Location: Great location if your doing the North Coadt 500
The hotel is great it has everything you need and is warm and cosy. The best bit for us was the owners/staff they were on hand with a fabulous welcome and a very friendly touch. The food and service was excellent. I would definitely recommend
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK to disappointing

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Well located on North Coast 500 Route
Cons: Strong nicotine odour needs to be eliminated.
Expensive, room 9 was clean BUT had strong nicotine odour. Had stayed at 5 locations on North Coast 500 route.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable night, we will return

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
fantastic characterful barman. Dog friendly hotel, although not for breakfast as Dogs not allowed in lounge and bar (dog friendly) closed in the morning. Fantastic breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location, but that's all!!

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Hotel very basic. Greeted (& served breakfast by) very abrupt young man. Not welcoming or pleasant in any way. He needs proper training in good manners & hospitality.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Far from Lairg

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Expedia advertised hotel as being in Lairg. It was in Rhiconich and caused us a long delay before locating Rhiconich. This has been a problem with many Expedia listings!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cardiff & Mullumbimby

Great location view-wise. Pity about its conditio

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Only the wonderful view, I'm afraid
Cons: Everything. See criticisms above.
Location: Great view.
Our room was very noisy - right next to reception, the front door and the verandah seating area. Our door was thin, so noise travelled straight into our room. Noise from people returning at night disturbed us. Service was rubbish - waited 30 mins for soup - and it was soup of the day! Reception was very unfriendly, although was efficient. Room and the whole hotel was old & tired. Not dirty but just tied & old. The price was ridiculously high for what was provided. No yoghurt available for breakfast. We've been doing a 2 week touring holiday in northern Scotland and this hotel is the worst we have stayed in AND is the most expensive. WE WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire, UK

A good value hotel, with an excellent view.

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: The view from its windows.
Cons: The dining room and bedroom could be made less stark.
Location: The hotel is near the attractive west coast of the Highlands, so that the main activities would be walking or driving. We spent a happy day in the car
This is an inexpensive hotel, which provides good value for the money, and is much better than it looks from outside. The service was cheerful enough. The food was not elaborate, but wholesome and well cooked. Fish and chips turned out to be a good bet. The room and the bathroom were adequate and perfectly clean, but the magnificent view over the sea lough, with sheep in the foreground made up for any shortcomings. As so often in hotels, there was nowhere to put your soap whilst taking a shower. There is a comfortable lounge, but the bar is small and not very attractive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient for the area

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Generous size room, clean and comfortable. Hotel has a pleasant sitting area. Menu not gourmet but good
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 25, 2016 on Hotels