Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible Customer Service/Unattended for Party

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
During the second night stay, I arrived back to the hotel after hiking only to see that it had been left virtually unattended minus a few service staff. The wifi had been turned off, and as a result, I kindly approached the only staff at the hotel to access the wifi only to be treated like absolute garbage. They had no interest in helping me connect to the internet, tried to rush dinner so they could leave and overall had a very poor attitude. I asked about when the managing staff would return, and they said that they were at a party all night and left little detail. It was absolutely horrifying that they left the hotel unattended in the middle of a rural area of Guatemala. The service staff indicated that they were soon leaving, so I decided to depart the hotel that evening to stay at another one. The next day, I asked for a refund for the night that I did not stay, and I was refused such a refund. They did not seem to care or acknowledge their responsibility in running a business. I will petition that Hotels.com remove them from their site, because it is clear that this hotel does not have any interest in providing a service to its guests. This hotel is run by a bunch of party kids that do not care about service. I urge you not to stay here for any reason. There are plenty of other options! Finally, to make matters worse, they actually charged me double for food, which they did reimburse finally but just adds more evidence that this hotel is not what it seems.
4 out of 5
by JAVIER

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A gem on Lake Atitlan

Posted Jul 21, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is a group of casitas situated on lushly manicured grounds. Our cabin was tastefully rustic and spotless. The hotel has an excellent restaurant, on-site yoga, and gorgeous lake and volcano views. It's easy to walk the short distance to the Santa Cruz public dock and catch boat the various villages that ring the lake. Service is top-notch and friendly. Hard to leave.
5 out of 5
by Eric from Arlington, VA

Beautiful secluded hotel

Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic secluded location, delicious fixed dinners for a very affordable price, quaint rooms with great views of the lake. Was able to get some much needed rest and still get to enjoy what the lake has to offer and visit some other villages.
1 out of 5
by O Patricia from California

Nightmare!!!

Posted May 13, 2015 on Hotels
We arrived and it was no reservation on there system for us after we received a confirmation of it...the staff was very unexperienced we were very dessapointed and also this place it is very expensive we had a very bad experienced don't recommend this place at all...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Breathtaking view, delicious food and helpful staf

Posted Dec 6, 2014
I had the most wonderful stay at Isla Verde, I only wish I could have stayed more than one night! The staff was so kind and generous to help in any way they could! The view is amazing... And I've traveled all around the world and have seen some pretty amazing views! The food was delicious and healthy- all grown organically on their property! In the short 24 hours I was there, I was able to enjoy sunbathing, a morning kayak trip on the lake, and squeeze in a few chapters of my book. I will absolutely return to Isla Verde one day!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by rey from texas

a nice getaway

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels
the place is primarily a romantic getaway for true nature lovers.... the break fast and lunch options are good but may be considered a bit pricey... dinner is one fixed three course meal and does vary... the quality of dinner is not good and a little too costly.... the wine selections is poor and too costly....the view of lake and volcano are spectacular....the place for me gets 4 out of 5 stars
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sahar from Vancouver

Dreamy place

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Design and decoration, friendliness of staff.
Cons: Its better to provide the information to guests to ask the boats from Panajachel to stop at Isla Verde vs. Santa Cruz
Location: Walking around Santa Cruz, taking the boat to other villages. Doing yoga at Isla Verde
We realy enjoyed our time at Isla Verde. Its a beautiful set up. Food is fantastic, staff are lovely, and ofcourse the lake is always magical!
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Pleasant Ecotourism location

Posted Apr 6, 2014 on Hotels
The best aspect of this hotel is the location, situated atop the lake in cabins that extend upwards from the hill. Each has a spectacular view and there is a rustic aesthetic to the rooms. Getting to the hotel is easier if you can talk the boatman into dropping you off at the Hotel Isla Verde dock as opposed to the Santa Cruz dock, a 20 minute plus hilly walk to the hotel. The English speaking hotel staff were very easy to work with; those who had limited English would be easier to work with had we been more fluent in Spanish. Due to the language barriers, it was not always easy to work out the payment issues and get tours arranged. I would recommend staying at the hotel for its beauty and calm ambience; I would recommend coming prepared for the lack of hot water after 5:30 PM and the sparseness of the electricity due to the solar power.