Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Bed was so small, imposible to sleep well as a couple..!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wow!!!

Posted Jan 1, 2017
My family and I had the lake to ourselves. We were able to kayak and enjoy the sun. We even helped out a baby owl that we found at the entrance of the hotel's parking lot.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great spot, lots of potential for improvements

Posted Dec 2, 2016
The rooms are clean (needs better toiletries and toilet paper) and nice, great beach, spectacular view and location. The lobby is horrible, food is bad and poor quality, the hotel grounds need better up-keeping, specially the pool area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The suites are very spacious and comfortable.

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Excellent stay. Mayan sauna, jacuzzi and in room fire in demand. Kind staff. Restaurant could have better hours and be open more consistently (but I understand it's hours as the location doesn't have a ton of guests)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beautiful setting, so so hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Pros: Views.
Cons: The desk clerk couldn't even be bothered to get off the phone when I checked out, so I just left the key.
The setting was gorgeous, but the walk to and from town was a very steep hill and along a very busy road. I thought that the breakfast was included, but was told it wasn't because I booked through Expedia. Next time I would stay in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Rustic beauty; lakeside getaway

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Pretty rooms, views, breakfast, gardens, the sauna.
When we arrived, we noticed one of the windows was broken and bugs were flying in. We asked for a new room. No problem. Actually, anything we asked for was no problem, as the staff were incredibly accommodating. Walking distance to Calle Santander and the playa of Panajachel. Or they're happy to call you a tuk tuk if you don't feel like walking (there are hills). Get one of the suites so that you get a kitchen because the restaurant is only open for breakfast and lunch (we mostly just used the fridge so we could have beer and tequila at night). The gardens are beautiful and clearly very well cared for. If you want to get away from the noise of the city, but don't want to lose the amazing views, STAY HERE!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fredericksburg, va

Great hotel along the water

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: Loved it being on the water and its distance from town is good. Panajachel is a very loud, active town and the hotel is a quiet refuge from town
Cons: Staff could have been more accomodating, they didn't want to be as helpful i feel because we booked via expedia.
Location: Great to pick up a boat from the main dock and visit santiago Atitlan, San Pedro, and San Juan or cruz
The hotel is beautiful, almost looks like a historic building with beautiful architecture. Lovely pool, with well groomed grounds and beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guatemala

New favorite hotel near Panajachel

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, different architecture, lake views, peace and quiet, private terraces in suites
Location: Dinner at downtown Panajachel in Circus Bar (good pizza and pastas) and boat ride to Posada de Santiago for must-have blue corn pancakes.
We travelled to San Buenaventura for a quick weekend get-a-way with the kids and had a surprisingly great time here! The two level suites were great, with wonderful views of the lake, fireplace, extra ponchos for the cold, good beds, fully equipped kitchen, great private terrace with carbon grill. The pool area is really nice, well kept gardens. Breakfast was a bit on the expensive side, but good, we had some delicious honey crepes. Hotel staff was scarce at night when we arrived buy took good care of us and even recommended a very friendly Tuk Tuk driver so we could go to Panajachel for dinner (short 5 min ride). Hotel is on the road before getting to downtown Panajachel so driving or Tuk Tuk rental is a must, walking to and from city to hotel might be dangerous at night. But on the upside, hotel it is so much more quiet and relaxing, with nice beach access to Lake Atitlan, than other hotels we've visited in Panajachel. Highly recommend two restaurants, Circus Bar in Panajachel and a 30-min boat ride to San Pedro to go have blue corn pancakes at Posada de Santiago Hotel y Restaurante. Walking across from hotel entrance is the Atitlan Nature Reserve with interesting activities like zip lines, wooded trails, hanging bridges and a Butterfly Preservation project.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Buen hotel...

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Es un buen hotel. Muy bien ubicado a la orilla del lago Atitlan. El servicio es bueno pero no el mejor, como en otros lugares de Guatemala.