Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Very nice view

Posted Sep 4, 2016
The place is breathtaking. Great area and it has an excellent view of the Lake. Although the the rooms need a bit up grading. The beds need to be more comfortable and the wi-fi needs to be more accessible in the rooms. But otherwise everything is great.
5 out of 5
by martien from Atascadero

fun at Atitlan

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
We had a tour group there and they loved the place away from the hustle and bustle of Pana yet close by all fun lake Atitlan.
4 out of 5
by Livier

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by JAEHONG from Ulsan, Korea

Nice hotel with bad access

Posted Feb 10, 2016 on Hotels
The Hotel itself was good. Hoever, this hotel is far from Panajachel and acccess is very bad. Without own car, this hotel is not relevant. I cannot sleep though all night due to dogs' screaming at neighbor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guatemala

Very quiet and out of the way (in a nice way)

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Quite and comfortable, nice food, good staff
Cons: some way of heating the large pool, its really really really cold :-)
Location: The location is ok, in front of the lake, but there is almost nothing to do local to the hotel, you have to get away for other activities
The hotel is very nice, 2 pools, one heated the other not. Our room was really basic, but nice, no safe, no phone, no room service, but a great view to the lake and volcanoes. The restaurant serves very good food, I can only imagine that the other reviewers are a bit snobby about food, don't pay them too much attention. There did not appear to be any local (i.e. walking distance) restaurants anywhere, you would need a car or taxi to go to the nearest local town where there are plenty of restaurants available. If you want a really quiet time, no discos, no loud intrusions, this is a great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Cons: Beds
It was beyond our expectations, the setting, hotel views, gardens, charm, the staff, cleanliness, restaurant were all very good. The only thing that could be improved upon was the bed. It was too hard but because everything else was so wonderful I was able to compromise......The village of Santa Catalina was also very charming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA, USA

Paradise in Santa Catarina

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Glorious setting especially from room 25, sounds were amazing (music, rain, children, birds, roosters), nice restaurant, beautiful courtyard
Cons: door was opened twice while I lay sick in bed...without a knock. uncomfortable....causing me to use deadbolt more often. add room safe for valuables
Location: I did not get to explore, since I was there to assist my daughter get medical care, but the excursions you could book in Panajachel were plentiful.
In spite of negative blogs that I read, my experience was fabulous. I used the hotel, not for vacation, but for an emergency purpose to check on my daughter's welfare (UCD student) after a dog bite. My room #25, could not have had a more breathtaking view of both the volcanoes and the lake. It was clean, had hot water, was serviced well and one night the maid even dressed up my towels into an animal shape. I had all that I needed....and if I were there on vacation - I still would have been satisfied. There were still some natural challenges that were par for the environment....a quiet stream of ants and one other annoying insect creature - but it is Guatemala! I took pictures of the beautiful courtyard and enjoyed the birds that also seem to love the balconies and court pleasantries. I never got the pleasure of using the pool or hot tub....but next time when I bring my spouse, I shall. I felt safe there most of the time from outside, more sinister nighttime activity...as the gates seemed to be shut each night. The restaurant was well staffed, colorful and had the same glorious setting as my room. the music from both the church and central square in Santa Catarina could always be heard lending to the ambiance. The children's voices...at the school nearby was such a happy sound...loved it. Can't wait to stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Fede from Guatemala

Nice hotel, with a warm little pool, enjoyable.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
The only thing that was disappointing was a noise church that didn´t let me sleep a nap. everything else was excelent... acording to the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel & grounds, but not worth the price

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: Beautiful grounds, staff and restaurant. Great hot chocolate!
Cons: The beds and room decore
Location: Great location to lake Atitlan!
Beautiful hotel, great location and great grounds. The food is great and staff was also very nice. The beds were pretty uncomfortable, unless you like hard mattresses. The room decor was very sparse, so I don't think the room was worth the price paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2013