Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Not worthy of 4 Stars!

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Good check in - able to check in early. Otherwise very disappointing and expectations not met. Spa facilities ok but had to wait an hour for them as weren't switched on or prepared. No room service and after an afternoon relaxing in the spa we were reluctant to go out in minus 10 ice and snow however there were only 4 options available on the menu - 1 starter, 2 mains & 1 dessert - no vegetarian! The chef told us what you see on the menu is all we have and was quite rude. We had to take a taxi incurring 10€ surcharge to town & find a restaurant. Bed was comfy and suite spacious but dated and no attention to detail. Magnifying mirror hanging off and stationary crumpled. Breakfast buffet adequate but melon had definitely gone off and other fresh fruit looked grey and stale. Gym had one bike and one cross trainer - no other equipment. Our plan of a girly spa day with room service and a movie (only 2 English channels on TV) did not materialize and I feel cheated out of paying exorbitant rates for a substandard night away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
Very luxurious room, nice view, fantastic!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful iconic hotel, a step back in time

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Location and view from room. Large room and comfortable beds, enjoyed having a bath tub. The spa with its sauna, steam bath, and jacuzzi were wonderful
Cons: As it was end of season there were hardly any guests so it felt a bit strange to be in such a grand hotel and be the only ones in breakfast, and the large restaurant and bars were empty.
Location: Boat to island Castle Favorite outing was to nearby Vintgar Gorge, beautiful walk
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

A Room With a VIEW! And incredible staff!

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: We absolutely loved Villa Bled. I have read the past reviews of complaints about the decor being outdated etc. But that is part of the charm! Having an opportunity to stay in one of the former homes of Tito, the former Yugoslavian Dictator was amazing. His desk is on display as well as the mural in the ballroom and being able to wander the rooms and hallways where so many historical people walked was a treat. We requested a lake view room and it was nothing short of spectacular. The room is actually a suite and we had a large living room and a bedroom and five huge windows overlooking Bled Island and Bled Castle. The Villa is right on the shores of the lake with a walking path circling the lake. We also took a rowboat one late afternoon and rowed out to the island and all around the lake. The breakfast buffet was great and you could also order whatever you might like. The grounds were beautiful. But what really set this hotel apart was the staff. They were so helpful in every way...suggesting restaurants and driving excursions. In short they made us feel as if we were home. I do not know the Slovenian word for the English name Matthew but we have traveled in hotels all over the world and he is one of the best concierge/managers we have ever encountered!
Cons: There is not anything we disliked about the hotel.
Location: Fabulous location. Best location on the lake.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

Nice hotel, beautiful location, no vegetarian food

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: Lots of beautiful walks, short and long hiking trails, picturesque lake and mountain hiking options within a short drive.
This is a very nice hotel in a secluded location directly on the lake side. We had a standard double room, which was of a good size and had a small balcony overlooking the lake and Bled Island. There was no air conditioning in the room, which was not a problem for the time of year we were there. The hotel is classical in style, and probably hasn't changed much in decades, but nor does it need to. The breakfast room allows you to have a standard buffet breakfast (nothing special) whilst overlooking the lake. The views are spectacular. There is plenty of free parking. HOWEVER, the restaurant does not cater for vegetarians or pescatarians. We were quite shocked by this. The standard menu is meat only, and the special menu did have fish for one day of our stay, but only meat on other days. This means that any non-meat eaters have to walk into town (25 min walk) to find something to eat, although there were also a couple of restaurants about a 5 minute walk away. Any 4 star hotel catering to international guests should have at least one vegetarian option as a minimum, and it is totally unacceptable for this hotel to not offer anything. I would love to come back to this area in the future, and would like to stay at this hotel again, however the lack of food means that that is not possible.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A view ONLY!!!

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
All about the view (and that's it)! If you like 1950s accommodations and amenities, stay here. Otherwise, don't waste your money! Desperately in need of a remodel! No A/C and "primitive" accommodations. Paying only for the view.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Beautiful old presidential palace, away from side of lake where majority of hotels and bus station is. A very tranquil spot