Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel!

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice stay. Calm. I appreciated the access to the pool included to relax. Clean.
1 out of 5
by Olivier B.

wanted to relax...

Posted May 12, 2015 on HotelClub
Very, very disappointed about this Mercure Aix les Bains. The room was old and dirty. It felt like it hasn't been used for a while. Very surprising considering we paid for the privilege room (funny no for 175 euro?). The thermes were closed on Friday and Saturday. Still wondering why... maybe because it was a bank holiday? But then it means we should go to the hotel during the week when we work? The SPA is just OK, nothing fancy but it works. Bar and bartender were fine - in line with our expectations and the status of a 3 stars hotel (4 stars on the building). The reception did not speak English that well - which maybe explained why they did not bother to explain anything when we checked-in (thermes are closed, spa works, etc..). They, however, did not forget to mention the breakfast at 19 euro/ person.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and Well Priced

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel has all the basics. The front desk staff was very friendly. The rest of the hotel staff was so so. The rooms are a little out dated. The location is good and I love the free parking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a 4 sar hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels
Realistically this is a 3 star hotel by western measures - the room interiors are dated, there are cables underneath the sink in the bathroom that are not really adding to the overall impression of the bathroom, carpets, curtains as well as pretty much else could do with a refurb. Not a 4-star choice at breakfast either - there is a little choice but nothing one is used to from other 4-star hotels. The spa area is tiny and on one of the days the saunas were turned off 1 hr before closing times (as observed by my colleague). All in all, I would not recommend this hotel if you find another viable option. It is not the worst but it is also not what one would expect from a 4-star establishment.
4 out of 5
by cmc from canada

Excellent

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels
I expected a budget type hotel and it was anything but. The excellent service and spa with pool was outstanding. The supper and breakfast were very good but not outstanding. The service for both meals was outstanding and prompt. I would recommend and stay there again.
1 out of 5
by CI from UK

avoid

Posted Feb 28, 2014
over priced and over rated. sauna was not working during the week. facilities over crowded at weekend
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ezio from Geneva

Octagonal pool!

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: Pool
Cons: I dont like being forced to buy slippers to get into the pool
Location: Location is 15 min from city centre. A beautiful park around. Lake is far
Nice place, with a beautiful park around. Nice and large (octaginal pool), and good spa facilities. You can also sunbath outside during the warm season. 15 min walk from the city centre, so location is not central, but this is the price for being surrounded by green. There is also a bus but rather infrequent. Bring slippers or flip flops for the pool since they are compulsory, and otherwise you have to buy them (I found 9 eur pretty expensive, but I never bought slippers in my life so this could be reasonable).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

facilities not available for children

Posted Jan 23, 2012 on Hotels
very disappointed to discover on arrival that some of the very basic facili-ties (including the swimming pool) were not available to children. This wasn't made explicit or implied in any off the details on hotels.com. This lack of clarity is not what I would expect from hotels.com or Mercure hotel. If we had known we would have booked somewhere else. I was left with two very disappointed kids and we struggled to explain why the empty swimming pool that they could see, they weren't allowed go in.
5 out of 5
by MARJORIE

un séjour de pure détente

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Je recommande vivement cet endroit pour quelqu'un qui recherche la tranquillité. J'ai passé un week-end détente dans un cadre très agréable (parc)
5 out of 5
by Alain

Une valeur sure

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
Accueil personnalisé rapide à l'enregistrement comme lors du départ Sens du service au niveau à tous les niveaux (accueil, resto, SPA) Chambre très confortable et point très positif : bien insonorisée