Ratings based on 2,206 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Too Expensive for an older hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Pool and Lazy river
Cons: The condition of the hotel. Needs a remodel.
Location: Location ok, near Golden Nugget
Hotel was disappointing for the price. Not many restaurants on site. Room was ok but felt dirty and hallways smelled like old smokey carpets. Loose floor tiles in the elevator. Stayed 2 nights and our room was not serviced after the first night. Complained to front desk and said they were short handed. It was a short walk to the Golden Nugget. Pool and lazy river are beautiful but weather was not good enough to enjoy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with a great pool and lazy river.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Great restaurants in the hotel and casino! The slots and tables were really nice. The smoke in the casino was minimized.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from port lavaca, tx

all good nice hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2017
all good did some gambling had some fun did not eat cost was just as much as the room LOL
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by JB, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon - Thank you for sharing your experiences with us in this review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back with us again soon. Sincerely, L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Killeen, TX

Casino close to Houston

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: I can gamble downstairs as my kids are upstairs safe.
Cons: Have something for the kids besides a sandy beach.
Location: There's a golf course and a main road with grocery stores, restaurants and banks.
Beautiful, but ridiculously priced. This is place is not for the cheap. The casino floor is small. There were two good things I liked. Jack Daniels Bar & Grill (GREAT FOOD and Service) and you can have a lovely walk to the casino next door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by JB, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon Teresa - Thank you for this wonderful review. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed the stay. We are eager to have you join us again soon. Sincerely, L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun Mini Stay

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Had a fun mini staycation. Family enjoyed the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by JB, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon - Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad that you enjoyed a mini getaway. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Not bad, not fabulous

Posted Mar 18, 2017
This hotel could use a face lift. It feels kind of dated, especially for the price. My biggest gripe was the staff. First I called before I arrived to guarantee a late check in. The operator told me that she couldn't help me because I made my reservation thru Expedia. I had to go thru Expedia. Then when room service came, there was a whopping $12 service charge. I don't usually tip when there is such a large service fee-that is the tip. I tipped a few dollars anyway. The server had the nerve to call me on the phone and ask why I had not tipped more! Give me a break! The staff wasn't particularly helpful or friendly. I'll probably stick to the property next door. Also, the craps tables only had $15 minimum bets. I prefer a lower minimum. It's hard to play for a long time, when each bet is $15. I just felt like I was getting ripped off left and right.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by JB, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon - Thank you for taking the time to review us. We loved having you as our guest. We appreciate your feedback and will be passing it along to our leadership team. We hope to be able to have you join us again soon. Sincerely, L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Great. Would recommend it to friends. Clean rooms , good food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by JB, Hotel Management
Good Morning - Thank you for this great review. We are flattered to get your personal recommendation. We look forward to having you join us again soon. Sincerely, L'Auebrge Casino Resort Lake Charles
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port O'Connor, Texas

Wonderful Hotel Front Desk and Concierge Staff-But

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Room was very nice and clean. Pools were awesome but no bar service during the week. Front Desk, Valet, and Concierge Staff were excellent!
Cons: Casino Waitstaff was Horrible.
Location: We stayed at the hotel.
While the Front Desk,Valet and Concierge Staff were excellent! The service in the Casino was Pathetic. We had a group of 6 people and we were constantly having to go look for a waitress to get a drink regardless of how much we tipped them. The first one I found I tipped her $10 for the two drinks she brought to my wife and I, we never saw her again. I even went in the High Dollar Salon and the service was no better. As a group we spent significant amount of money there and left frustrated with the Casino Wait Staff. Probably not going back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by JB, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon Paul - Thank you for taking the time to review. We are glad that you enjoyed your room and time by the pool. We will be passing your feedback about the casino service along to our leadership team. We hope to have you join us again soon. Sincerely, L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is in need of attention

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Were placed in a room with a king and a pullout queen sofa. Pulled the sofa out at 11pm and there was NO mattress in it. Finally after 1 am we received a mattress. I expected a little more for a room that cost me $320 a night after taxes. Hotel management gave us a free breakfast. Breakfast buffet was not the best. Seating in buffet restuaraunt had large slits in some of the upholstery. Hotel needs attention to details
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by JB, Hotel Management
Good Morning - Thank you for taking the time to review us. We loved having you as our guest. We are disappointed with the experience that you shared and will be passing this feedback along to our leadership team. We hope to be able to have you join us again. Sincerely, L'Auebrge Casino Resort Lake Charles
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from baton rouge, la

Great place to stay!

Posted Mar 12, 2017
This is a great place all around. The only improvement I can think of is that I wish the casino was smoke-free. There is plenty of outside area like the balcony looking over the water where people can smoke. I would spend more time in the casino if that were the case.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by JB, Hotel Management
Good Morning - Thank you for this great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Sincerely, L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles