Ratings based on 577 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
43% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2017
The place looks like a old apartment building turned into a motel.Reminds me of the projects . Stains all over the carpet tiles missing off the stairs the sliding glass door to the balcony in my room was cracked shower was jury rigged so it would work .If i could of got my money back i would of left not a place I would ever stay again id sleep in my truck first.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Richmond Suites, Hotel Management
We apologize that your stay was not a good stay. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding our property. We are in the process updating our property and correct the issues that you had.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX.

Run down

Posted Nov 10, 2017
If you don't care where you stay this could be a place for you, otherwise keep looking. No phone in room, only two channels without remotes for t.v. then deal with a shower that isn't worth a flip. Do yourself a favor and don't do this one!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Horrible

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Dead bugs, filthy amenities, bathroom not clean, almost fell in shower because so slippery, bathroom sink didn’t drain, almost fell off balcony because railing completely compromised, continental breakfast disgusting, counter staff arguing and making me wait 15 minutes while they argued.....The only reason I stayed was because I was in Lake Charles for a wedding at 6pm and check in was 3pm, so I didn’t have time to relocate and miss the wedding. I would really like a refund considering the filth, not to mention the absolute safety issues to my well being. You should remove this establishment from your list. It makes me question the trust I placed in your company for help in finding lodging that was acceptable as well as affordable. I am not pleased in the least!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Richmond Suites, Hotel Management
We apologize that you stay was less than satisfactory We have documented your concerns and are working to correct the issues that you mention in your feedback. While we are in the process updating our property.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2017
It was just ok no response from services Cockroaches in a room light are missing coffe maker not works
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by Richmond Suites, Hotel Management
We apologize that you did not have a great stay. We will deal with the issues that you mention in your review.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx

Did not stay.

Posted Oct 27, 2017
This hotel/motel/apartment was not what was advertised. We did not stay but were charged a full night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by KHebert, Hotel Management
I am so sorry that your stay wasn't what you expected. Our staff is working hard to correct all the issues. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will give us another try.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2017
If you just need a place to stay for the night it's alright. What really ticked me off was the bathtub was messed up and I was repeatedly bit by fleas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by Richmond Suites, Hotel Management
We're apologize if you was unhappy with your stay. We are workinhg to correct the issues that yo have told us about.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Allow people to cancel without being penalized.. Its not worth the money they charge for this hotel.. It is out of date and the owners need to invest
Just look at the pictures cigarrete burns in the blanlket. Just disgusting and i could not cancel my reservation or i would be charged the entire night.. Not worth the money i was charged, i would like my money back to be honest. The owner needs to invest in reodeling every room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Richmond Suites, Hotel Management
We apologize that you were unhappy woth your stay.We are working to correct the issues tha you had.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

FEMA rooms

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: GIVE US A REFUND
We needed a place to stay in Lake Charles that's reasonably cheap but also of good quality. We saw pictures of Richmond Suites on the Expedia website and thought it looked great for the price. We already know that it's an extended stay kind of place and it was apartment-style with different buildings. Upon checking in, we noticed that the place was in the shady part of town. Not a problem since the compound had gates. But when we got to our building apartment, that's when we realized we made a big mistake. There were people cutting hair in the parking lot, BBQ grills, kids everywhere, and broken windows on some apartments. We went inside the building to check out our room and noticed FEMA notices on the doors of the rooms. The place was being used as a FEMA shelter. We got inside our room, good thing it was clean and didn't have any smell. But when I checked the sliding door at the back, I saw that the lock was broken. Anybody could have simply gone in and steal our belongings. To sum things up, we were extremely disappointed. I tried getting a refund and from the look of the front desk person, she knew (or expected) our disappointment. However, since we made our booking through Expedia, she could not issue a refund. We ended up staying somewhere else and did not even spend the night at Richmonde Suites. Expedia: you guys dropped the ball here. Why is this place even listed? This place only ruins your portfolio.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by Richmond Suites, Hotel Management
We are sorry that your stay was not a great one. We are in the process of correcting that issues that you had. Thanks for letting us know through your review.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lake Charles, LA

Appliances and hot water

Posted Aug 26, 2017
The micro wave did not work. There were no hot water in the room. The bath tub was not cleaned. The balcony has not been cleansed for several months because there was moss snd mildew. Beer cans, glass bottles and cigarettes butts were left on the balcony. The carpet was coming off , someone could trip and fall on it. There was a sharp metal protruding off the bed. It presented a danger of someone getting cut.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Karen H., Hotel Management
We sorry that you were unhappy with your stay we will work hard to fix the issues that you told us about
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Carpet torn. Bath nasty, dirty & hard to flush. Breakfast was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Karen H., Hotel Management
We're sorry that you were unhappy with you with your stay we are working hard to at you correct the issues that you had