Ratings based on 328 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC, NY

A lousy experience, wholly unacceptable.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Location: This hotel is near many things, which you cannot use because they can simply ship you off to another hotel miles away, without any concern for you.
I booked this hotel three months early because the chorus from which I had just retired was singing in the Teatro Sociale di Como about five minutes away from the hotel, which was good because at 81 years of age I cannot walk long distances. When I got to the hotel, the person behind the desk blandly announced that they had no room for me there, but that they had booked me into their "other" hotel in Como, which was in fact five miles away on the other side of Lake Como. This other hotel had no access to public transportation, nor to immediate taxi service, nor to any other means of getting to the theater where my friends were singing that night, nor any means of getting back to the other hotel after the concert, which ended at 11:30 p.m.. It was obvious that this hotel does not give a flip about its guests. Do not book this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Giulia, Hotel Management
Dear Jim, we would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience, we had a problem with your booking and made up for it as best as we could. We are sorry the accommodation we found for you was not suitable. We assure you these kind of problems are not the norm here and we care about our guests and their experience. Once again we are very sorry and we hope to have the chance to welcome you to Albergo Terminus again in order to offer you an unforgettable experience. - Giulia Caldera Guest Relations & Web Reputation @ Lario Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely room, lovely view

Posted Jul 1, 2017
We stayed in room 300. It has a breathtaking view of Lake Como, with a spacious private sun terrace. Everything in the room was perfect apart from the exceptionally small safe, which we couldn't fit our ipad
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Giulia, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of Albergo Terminus, Room 300 is simply beautiful, isn’t it? We are happy you liked the sun terrace and the view of the lake. We will make sure to share you feedback about the size of the safe with administration. In the meantime, we hope to see you again at Albergo Terminus very soon! Giulia Caldera Guest Relations & Web Reputation @ Lario Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the lake

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Very nice place to stay in the center of everything
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridgeshire

Good hotel. Excellent location.

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Very clean and cool in exceptionally hot weather. Nice breakfast taken outside in courtyard.
Cons: It would have been nice if there had been somewhere to relax outside.
Location: Position of hotel could not be better. It is immediately opposite the lake and 20 yards from the main town square.
Very hot but enjoyable stay. Bit of a scare when our transport booked through Suntravel failed to turn up to take us back to the airport. Thanks to excellent work by hotel reception staff who rustled up a replacement we made our flight in time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Located right on Lake Como, near all attractions!

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: The appointments--the Italian architecture and decor. The marble baths, and look in the public spaces. We also appreciated the care from the staff.
Cons: Extend the non-smoking policy to the patio space. It is still shocking to me that the Italians haven't gotten the momo that smoking kills.
Location: Albergo Terminus is right in the middle of everything. Across from ferry landing, 10 minute walk to funicular, steps from restaurants and shops.
Como is a beautiful spot for a relaxing getaway. Our group of 7 family members came to Como following my daughter's wedding in Cinque Terre. We enjoyed several delightful meals within walking distance of the hotel. Sightseeing nearby included the Duomo and a funicular ride up to great sightseeing spots overlooking the lake and countryside all the way to Switzerland with additional hiking and views further up. We took a ferry ride to Bellagio, stopping at several towns on the way. A perfect lunch there, followed by shopping and walking through the town was followed by a hydrofoil ride back to Como. The Albergo Terminus is a beautiful old structure, grand in every way. The rooms were adequate in every way (ours was a little larger than some in our group) and even though they were not among the recently redone rooms, they were quiet, well appointed and very comfortable. The staff at the hotel couldn't have been more accommodating. They recommended restaurants, gave directions, provided wine glasses and plates for a family gathering in one of the parlors so we could "use up" some of the champagne from the wedding. Claudia made dinner reservations 3 nights, including one night at their own restaurant, which was excellent. Antonella booked a driver to show up at 4:30 to drive 4 of us to the airport for a very early flight. Any request we made was answered with a smile and a speedy response. Breakfast, a thorough Continental, included, cereal, fruit, yogurt, pastries, meats.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and comfortable hotel.

Posted May 1, 2017
Great place to stay, good breakfast, beautiful area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Great hotel with delicious breakfast.

Posted Apr 26, 2017
I would recommend this hotel if staying in Como and definitely get the option with breakfast. It was clean and beds were very comfortable. Staff were friendly. The hotel was in a good location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Myers, FL

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Location is the best in Como, you could walk in any direction and be close and safe.
Cons: Not enough electrical outlets to charge batteries, etc
Location: Location is A+++
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta GA

Beautiful hotel right on the lake.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
We had a beautiful room overlooking the lake. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was clean but small. The bath was small but not tiny so more than adequate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cresskill, Estados Unidos de América

excellent in every way

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: poor parking facilities and very expensive--so was the breakfast.
Location: in the old town walking distances and near the train/bus terminal
excellent I do not have to add anything extra except excellent.