Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Amazing view

Posted Apr 24, 2017
The room is warm and comfortable, clean towels and good smell. The view is AMAZING, staff is super nice and gentle. You pay for coffee and food for breakfast but the price is very good for guests of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NB, Canada

Amazing view...top of the world!

Posted Mar 26, 2017
There isn't anything about Brunate & Como that we don't love. And staying at Vista Lago is the perfect way to enjoy it. The room was clean, cozy, comfortable with a million dollar (euro) view. The owner was very welcoming. We will definitely stay there again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Considerations before booking

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
There was no air-conditioning nor fan so keeping balcony doors open is the only relief to summer heat. However, you will notice that there is no net/screen to keep bugs out. Also, there is a Church with a loud bell ringing evety hour for each hour (I.e. 6 times at 6pm). For check ins after 2pm the restaurant manager doubles as the hotel manager, which since there is no formal check-in desk means you just wait at the coffee bar until someone arrives to help you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Sweet hotel to get away

Posted Jul 30, 2016
We had a wonderful experience at this hotel. The staff were awesome and the room was clean and fresh. It is a very interesting drive to the hotel up a very narrow lane but it was so nice to be out of the busy area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Lovely B&B!

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Location: I recommend taking the somewhat vigorous hike up to the lighthouse, great views! We also recommend eating at the restaurant inside this hotel.
This place was simply wonderful! We arrived in the mid afternoon and checked in with no problem. The room was very clean and had a lovely view. We ate at the restaurant downstairs and were very pleased! The same gentleman that checked us in prepared our meal in the kitchen. I had the lasagna and it was delicious! It was very quiet with very few other guests. I wish we had stayed more than one night! They even let us leave our bags in the room and "check out" later!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orkney Scotland

Lovely view over the lake

Posted Sep 22, 2015
A ride up the funicular and great views spoiled by Fawlty Towers type staff. Twin beds instead of a double one of which collapsed. Como a stone throw away.
5 out of 5
by andrey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by John from Randolph, NJ USA

Great Overnight Experience

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Great view from the top of the mountain. Very clean and accommodating. Wish we had more time to spend beyond one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Spectacular view, exciting drive

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: View
Cons: English speaking
The hotel is located in Como suburbia on a mountain overlooking the city of Como and the lake with the surprisingly spectacular view from a balcony of every room (we even stayed extra day because of it). If you are a confident driver, you will share my excitement from the 5-km road from Como to the hotel, and finding a parking spot will be quite an entertaining challenge, since most of the empty spaces that don't block the streets are reserved for the registered residents only. For the reluctant commuter-type drivers I recommend the funicular line that runs from Como center to within 1-minute walk from a hotel (5.50 euros round-trip, operates till midnight in summer). Hotel personnel are inviting and helpful, but they speak only a few words in English. Breakfast is minimal, but it matches the hotel price range. The area is extremely quite at night (some might even say too quite) except for the neighboring church bells in the morning. The town of Como looks much better from the hotel balcony, than it does from the city center. Nice base to make half-day car trips along the shores of lake Como.
4 out of 5
by Patricia from Newcastle, Australia

Highly recommended

Posted May 11, 2015 on Hotels
Best place to stay while in Como. 25euro taxi fare from train station, which is a set price. Absolutely a fabulous location, Swiss alps in distance, Como accessable by a venicular with station very close to hotel. Bathroom a bit squeezy but but excellent facilities. Good value for money. Early check out difficult as manager not on site.