Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Sweet hotel to get away

Posted Jul 30, 2016
We had a wonderful experience at this hotel. The staff were awesome and the room was clean and fresh. It is a very interesting drive to the hotel up a very narrow lane but it was so nice to be out of the busy area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Lovely B&B!

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Location: I recommend taking the somewhat vigorous hike up to the lighthouse, great views! We also recommend eating at the restaurant inside this hotel.
This place was simply wonderful! We arrived in the mid afternoon and checked in with no problem. The room was very clean and had a lovely view. We ate at the restaurant downstairs and were very pleased! The same gentleman that checked us in prepared our meal in the kitchen. I had the lasagna and it was delicious! It was very quiet with very few other guests. I wish we had stayed more than one night! They even let us leave our bags in the room and "check out" later!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orkney Scotland

Lovely view over the lake

Posted Sep 22, 2015
A ride up the funicular and great views spoiled by Fawlty Towers type staff. Twin beds instead of a double one of which collapsed. Como a stone throw away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Spectacular view, exciting drive

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: View
Cons: English speaking
The hotel is located in Como suburbia on a mountain overlooking the city of Como and the lake with the surprisingly spectacular view from a balcony of every room (we even stayed extra day because of it). If you are a confident driver, you will share my excitement from the 5-km road from Como to the hotel, and finding a parking spot will be quite an entertaining challenge, since most of the empty spaces that don't block the streets are reserved for the registered residents only. For the reluctant commuter-type drivers I recommend the funicular line that runs from Como center to within 1-minute walk from a hotel (5.50 euros round-trip, operates till midnight in summer). Hotel personnel are inviting and helpful, but they speak only a few words in English. Breakfast is minimal, but it matches the hotel price range. The area is extremely quite at night (some might even say too quite) except for the neighboring church bells in the morning. The town of Como looks much better from the hotel balcony, than it does from the city center. Nice base to make half-day car trips along the shores of lake Como.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel up a mountain !

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Amazing views, good breakfast, comfortable beds. It would be good to have tea making facilities in room though.
Cons: When Expedia advertising this hotel should mention from Como it is up a mountain & accessed only by fuinicula (rail) or car.
Location: Lots to do in area ferry on lakes, restaurants museums walking etc
Brunate is a pretty place with amazing views, helpful staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was very disappointing I would suggest you take

Posted Oct 18, 2014
I would suggest you take them off your list, there was no-one manning reception most of the day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Hotel provides gorgeous overview of the lake and mountains. Location is quite convenient, hotel is about 100m from the top of funicular (~8min ride, EUR5.50 return ticket) which starts at about 300m from the train station (Como Nord Lago). The breakfast was fine. Staff was friendly. Rooms are quite small and unfortunately not very clean (as well as towels) which was a major disappointment. Also note that the reception is closed before 2pm.
2 out of 5
by Joy and Becky from Lancashire, England

Hotel had excellent position overlooking Lake Como

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: The views
Cons: See above
Location: It is excellent if you want to walk in the mountains but otherwise you're better staying in Como
Hotel was overlooking Lake Como and the views were stunning and that's all it had going for it.. The restaurant and bar were closed. There was no television, the safe didn't work, the fridge didn't work and the towel rail didn't work. Fridge was replaced but was still not cold enough to stop milk going off. Breakfast was just okay. Staff spoke very little English and very disinterested. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to funicolare.

Posted May 19, 2014
The hotel was nice the area is very quite the good thing is near the funicolare station so you do not have to walk too far !! The price for the funicolare is a bit expensive 5.30 € for tourist :( the staff in the hotel are very helpful and the chef lady is very welcoming. It is very Italian family atmosphere in the hotel. Enjoy your holiday to you all
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ric from zurich

Nice Hotel with great lake view

Posted Oct 13, 2013
We stayed two Nights. Personal is really friendly and the rooms are clean. Breakfast also exceeded our expectations. the village is quite and nice with a lot of nature around. Como is reachable by public transportation in 7 minutes. overall a good deal for the money..