Ratings based on 656 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Ok hotel let down by a few terrible staff

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Nice hotel with a great location. It is in need of some upgrading and updating. Rooms and public areas are all quite dated. Breakfast buffet is very average. Bar area has way too few staff and a few of them have a stinking attitude to customer service. Room prices were reasonable for a large but quirky room
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A grand grand hotel stay

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is a lovely grand hotel, well maintained and well positioned. The rooms were a nice size, very comfortable, and having a room with a balcony overlooking the lake was divine! The bar area was a great place to relax, but the outdoor terraces were the best. Magnificent views from many perspectives. The pool is located in the gardens and is a great respite from the warm sun. The lobby is grand as well. The hotel is located very well between two ferry steps, next to Villa Carlotta, and easy walking distance to Tremezzo and into Griante, with plenty of dining options and relaxed bars for coffee in the morning or drinks at night.
4 out of 5
by Jenna

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here for our honeymoon with our two young children. The hotel & location is lovely but not ideal to take young children. Better for 'older' people really.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston

Hotel dated

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Very run down, carpets etc need replacement. Beautiful terrace bar. Breakfast plentiful but mediocre. Rooms need upgrades - at least ones we had. Staff very nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2016
The staff particularly the restaurant staff were brilliant so helpful and attentitive. The food was decent not amazing but there was loads of it and a lot of choice which was good. The hotel itself is in a great location right next to villa Carlotta and has beautiful views over the lake. The hotel could do with some refurbishment but is a nice base to explore from. When we arrived were given a horrible room on the first floor with a tiny bathroom with mould. However once we complained we were moved and this did completely change our view of the hotel. Overall once we had moved rooms our experience was very positive but our original room was awful. Also be wary that the sea view rooms will experience road noise as they are right next to a road that has constant traffic.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Carrie from Reading

Another good stay at the Grand Hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
This is the third time u have stayed at the hotel in 3 years with my parents. We love the view it provides of the lake and the convenience to the foot and car ferries. The staff are friendly and room has been cleaned well
3 out of 5
by Paolo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Simon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Omar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels