Ratings based on 658 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good location

Posted May 9, 2017
Lovely room over looking the lake. However you do hear water passing through the drain down pipes when room shower above. Great location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Beautiful View

Posted Apr 5, 2017
This hotel is a fair way away from transport options so can be either a fairly expensive taxi ride or a cramped bus trip. If you're staying for a few days and the objective is to relax with the stunning views then this is a great hotel. If you're travelling for the sights and would like to go up the mountain, go out to dinner etc I would avoid this hotel. All in all a very interesting hotel and I would recommend if you're looking for a relaxing getaway and have a transport option to get there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Relaxation in old world charm

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
We had four days relaxing at Lake Como. The view from our balcony was superb and we enjoyed the old world atmosphere of the hotel. Although the hotel had its own restaurant we enjoyed walking along the lake each day, choosing different restaurants to try. When we wanted to book a day tour to Saint Moritz at the last minute the staff were extremely helpful and organised the tour for us. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australian

Fantastic Views.....

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Spectacular views & location
Cons: Bed, pillows, water pressure in bathroom, bigger showers, sewerage odor a issue? Healthier options at breakfast buffet..
Location: Great central position for ferries, restaurants & all that Como has to offer,
Beautiful old hotel, with Fantastic views from room & breakfast/restaurant, staff friendly & helpful, clean, Central location, for ferries, restaurants etc.............. shower very small, water flow eases off to a trickle, constant odor of sewerage in bathroom, heavy road traffic noise, bed& pillows hard...
4 out of 5
by Rita from London

Cadennabia - shabby but chic with great views

Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Hotels
The website hotels.com list descriptions of cerain amentities is misleading. There is an airport shuttle but you need to pay for it and it can cost 200 Euros each way. Also wifi is only available in the lounge areas and not in the room. Best part of the hotel is the splendid view and location which can get a little noisy with the traffic if you have a lake view with a balcony. Problem with air conditioning that was not fixed even when we left. Staff friendly and helpful but no manager ever available. Also you will be asked to pay in cash for excursions and there is no refund if illness etc. Buffet braekfast good. Hotel needs redecorating in certain areas.
3 out of 5
by Wasim from Chicago

Average experience

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
The room with a balcony , which we stayed in, was very close to the noisy street. The WIFI was very weak in the rooms. The hotel location was excellent and the view was outstanding. The hospitality was average.The ,check in, experience was less than average. We were given the wrong information about the breakfast time and we were not told about the in house dinner . Otherwise the hotel building is charming with style of the sixties.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Channel Islands

ideal location on west shore side.

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Top floor restaurant with great views. Easy to get to from Maggiore.
Cons: Car parking needs improving.
Location: Quieter than Como itself which suited us but still has facilities like restaurants nearby
We stayed 3 nights to explore Lake Como. Very large hotel, would benefit from more and better quality client car parking. Close to lake boat trips stop. Staff we met were all very pleasant and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Nice grand hotel, lovely terrace

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness, friendly staff, swimming pool, terrace
Cons: Entertainment could be updated (lone "singer" was awful), eighties radio in the bar not good enough. Food very good but would prefer a buffet.
Location: Central location allows you to see all the main sites easily (Villa Carlotta, Bellagio, Varenna, Menaggio, Lenno...)
We had a room with balcony & lake view so nothing to complain about. Gorgeous views. Room very clean although a strong smell of bleach can be unpleasant. The terrace, garden, swimming pool area are large enough for everyone, I think. Could do with more sun loungers though! Restaurant: breakfast fine as a buffet with plenty of choice (not enough dark bread). Dinner food is very good (used 3 times over 9 nights) but I would prefer a self-serve buffet and a slightly lower price. I just can't eat 4 courses! With a buffet, I could eat just one dish and plenty of it if I wanted to, which is not possible with the current system. I would also waste less as I just could not finish the 1st and 2nd courses. Bar: nice place, the music could be better - sometimes it was just radio with a lot of talking and that lacks class, especially in the evening. Entertainment: didn't really enjoy or take part as we thought it was a bit lame and aimed at older people. There was a lone singer - not very good or charismatic - with a music box in front of him and it looked like karaoke for one. He did try to get the crowd to sing but that didn't help in my view. There was one night with jazz piano and that was fine. The car park is slightly too small The location is great as the central lake ("centro lago") has most of the nice things to do.