Ratings based on 328 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Great historical architecture and story

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pretentious and indifferent staff. Very little English spoken. Restaurant food quality good, but a bit expensive and not as good as the almost comically stuffy wait staff think it is. I went in December, so the pool area wasn't open. Other than enjoying the castle architecture and wondering how they did all that, and thinking about the history, don't expect much to do without getting in a car. Rooms, hallways, not up to USA safety standards - poorly (or not) lit hallways. Easily missed steps in dark areas. Broken light in bedroom hanging by hot wires. Still, the castle itself is really something to see and stay in despite all of the above. Toss up whether I'd stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Altin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Alright hotel, nice grounds, not the best location

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel grounds are lovely, the room was shabby, the receptionist was rude on the first day, the rest of the staff were nice. We asked could we have a room with a bath, and despite the booking saying bath/shower we were told we hadn't booked at "that level". Which seemed odd - they potentially don't like bookings from hotels.com because we used rewards points. The outdoor pool is nicely located but probably not swept out very often. It's quite a far drive from the scenic parts of Lake Como.
5 out of 5
by Marion from Thredbo

Just as good as the first visit.

Posted Feb 13, 2016 on Hotels
This was my second visit to the Castello di Casiglio and I was not disapppointed. They staff were just as friendly as last time and the breakfast just as good. I was given a lovely large room but due to it's size and the position on the corner of the building it was a little cold for my comfort, although others would probably have not found it so. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed due to a special function but we were directed to a very nice little pizzeria only a couple of hundred metres down the road. My only regret was that I left my favourite headband in the room and it is too far to return to collect it. Maybe next year!
4 out of 5
by Debra from Melbourne

good hotel close to Lakes

Posted Nov 27, 2015 on Hotels
we chose to stay here to be close to the Lakes and Milan as were flying from Malpensa. With GPS help in the car we managed to find OK. the hotel is in beautiful settings and has lovely views. can't see the Lakes but it is only a 20min drive to Como and to other areas around the Lakes. Driving around the Lakes is an experience with very narrow, windy roads. we were very glad to be staying in a relatively easy driving to and from hotel with parking. the twin room isn't as nice as a double room- the beds were too close together so not a lot of space. the bathroom was spacious. Breakfast was lovely with freshly made omelettes. Staff were helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Nice country manor, great pool, expensive but quality restaurant. Character rooms and sophisticated bathrooms.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful castle vacation

Posted Aug 16, 2015 on Hotels
We loved the hotel which was conveniently close to the wedding venue of our friends and it is conveniently close to Como Lake. The hotel is cosy and gives a relaxing and holiday feeling. The staff is nice and helpful so big thank you to the staff.
4 out of 5
by Ellen from Montclair, NJ, USA

Beautiful castle hotel.

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful castle hotel. A bit far from the go-to places of Como and the lake towns, so a car is mandatory, but good place for a romantic, get-away for a few days. Buildings are old, so lacking some of the top-quality amenities found in newer spots, like HVAC system in bedrooms could use an upgrade. But overall very nice place and stay.
5 out of 5
by James from San Francisco

Beautiful countryside gem!

Posted Aug 9, 2015 on Hotels
Not so easy to find, particularly if relying on Google maps or the posted signs, which take you down a dirt path! But a lovely hotel, perfectly sited for wedding receptions in a gorgeous country setting. Our room was in the back building, which was a maze to get to through basement hallway/tunnels. Included breakfast was delicious with custom-made omelets. Elevator to the lobby wasn't working as we tried to check out, but that was the only major issue. About a 10 mile drive to Como. Would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
by janisk

breakfast

Posted Jul 28, 2015 on HotelClub
The breakfast and service was like at 2 star hotel.