Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rome

Close to lake

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: It was very close to the Lake and convenient for the station
Location: Excellent location for a wallk round the lake, a trip on the boats, visiting the historic centre.
The welcome was businesslike but not over friendly. The breakfast was adequate. The room was noisy having a front room on a busy road. It was not a hotel where you would want to stay long.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

BED BUGS ALERT!!!

Posted Apr 26, 2017
BED BUGS!!! Stayed at the Engadina in April 2017 with my family of 3. We all were bitten by the bed bugs all over our bodies (see photo). We tried to communicate with the hotel but they ignored our emails and never even acknowledged any of them. Stay away!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice clean hotel but noisy after 5:30 am

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Location is great with walking distance to the lake and touristy, shopping areas. The hotel staff is friendly but their local knowledge is limited to normal routine areas of knowledge and anything beyond that you have to do your own research. We once asked for recommendation of a German restaurant and they sent us to an Italian one. The rooms are decent and minimal. Breakfast is minimal but sufficient. The safe instructions are all in Italian. Probably the key cons is that our rooms face the street and it can be noisy starting at 5:30 am in the morning.
5 out of 5
by Richard

Good place to stay in Como

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
Good value hotel ; excellent service ; station only a few minutes away
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire England

Misleading Trivago advert photo

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Cons: Replace the photo in all hotel booking websites with an honest one. Change the room wall safes to make them stay closed even if the battery fails.
Average/medium in every category. Minus was that the photo in Trivago's hotel booking system is untrue, it shows a waterfront restaurant on Lake Como when Engadina has no such restaurant, the hotel is 1/4 km back from the lakefront and has NO lake view. This false information disappointed my family greatly. The room wall safes are unsafe. After locking it and checking it was properly locked, on returning from breakfast we found it open. The mechanism's battery had gone flat and its fallback mode is 'open' - quite unsatisfactory.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Overall the stay was fine. Hard to find without a GPS and parking was a little problem
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good location just outside old town

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Location and cost.
Location: Close to station, good directions. 5 mins walk to harbour and old town.
Not fancy but clean and comfortable to stay in. Good position without paying fortune to be in centre of town. Friendly helpful staff. close to harbour and old city.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing fancy, but good option for a good price

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
No frills and a bit dated, but friendly staff and amazing location for a good price. 15 min walk to San Giovanni station and 5 min walk to the Lake and downtown Como. Good shower and big enough room. Breakfast was served to us which was a nice change for free breakfasts in Italy and had enough variety. Would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Very good value hotel and near to the main station. Great for one or two nights. Staff (possibly the family owners) serve you breakfast in a cosy restaurant/bar and are very welcoming.