Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Pakistan

Nice hotel close to 2 stations and Lake Como

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Location: Bus stop of 5+ buses at less than 20 meters. Two train stations Albate-Camerlata & Como-Camerlata at walking distance. Direct bus to Como SG
Cons: In my room there was a door connecting it with neighboring room. This effects privacy as you may hear them and vice versa
Location: Ideal location in this budget. 2 train stations at walking distance and 1 train station at 10 mins bus ride away.
The location of this hotel is ideal. Hotel is located at 3 km from Lake Como and can be reached on bus. Como-Camerlata & Albate-Camerlata train stations are located at walking distances whereas Como S.Giovanni station can be reached by bus. More than 5 buses stop at the bus station located 20 meters from hotel. Hotel front desk staff is very cooperative in all aspects and my room was clean. The best thing about room is that you can keep it dark or illuminate it with sunlight using the metal shutter. I loved the walk down hill towards Lake Como where cars, bikes and bicycles speed past you down hill and uphill. There is a grill along side road protecting you from traffic in case an accident happens. The convenience of three train stops and a bus station at close proximity never gets you late and always keeps you connected with where you want to go. Hotel rooms are clean and prices are reasonable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only stay here if you have no choice!

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
I would not recommend this hotel unless there is nothing else available.
3 out of 5
by Marko

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
lovely people running the place
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

It is what it is and OK at the price

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: It's good value for money and the rooms are clean and tidy.
Cons: It's quite noisy and needs a bit of a spruce up.
Location: We didn't spend much time nearby - went to the city to do things and that's where the action is.
It's quite a long way out of the city but on a bus route.There's plenty of off street car parking which is essential if you're driving. Parking in Italy is always at a premium. The property could use a good overall tidy up. It looks a lot worse than it is though. The rooms are clean and tidy and that's the really important part. The hall and stair areas are a bit dark and dingy and the dark carpet makes it look dirty (which it probably isn't - I didn't get down to check?). Most of the rooms have a connecting door which is a single door and means you can hear every sound from the room next door. A bit annoying as some people hang out till the small hours and talk at several decibels louder than necessary. It's inexpensive and value for money, this place does it pretty well. Don't be put off by first impressions. The rooms are fine (and air conditioned)!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved my stay, always helpful

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Love staying with these people, very welcoming. Always happy to help.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Would not recommend

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Booked this hotel at last minute. Hotel looks rather tired and needs re-decoration. Room conditions were really disappointing. Air condition did not function at all and there was a strange and unpleasant odour in the room. Also, there was a small leak in the ceiling which dripped water. On the positive side, breakfast was really good and staff were helpful and pleasant.
2 out of 5
by Jerry S. from Oklahoma

Nice staff but...

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels
Do not eat at any if the surrounding restaurants. They would not let us pay them and said it would be "added" to our hotel bill. They were trying to rip us off, but the guy at the hotel took us back to pay and keep them from ripping us off. There was much yelling in Italian but we paid and all was well. The worst part of our trip to Italy. Felt like a dangerous area.
2 out of 5
by marie from in Italy travelling

Disappointment

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: In Como - conveniently located
Positives - economical, registration staff very helpful Negatives - looked nothing like images posted on web, maid staff extremely loud in hallway - having an argument - younger (teenaged) guests running up and down hall
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Most dodgy motel I've ever stayed in

Posted Jun 18, 2013 on Hotels
This is a very dodgy motel, that had 4 old men stare at us the whole time we were checking in. No wifi in the rooms. Had to go in the hallway to use it. Very scary surrounding place as well. Had to walk a long way to get some dinner. No supermarkets close. Very old and outdated decor. Would never suggest this place to anyone!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leeds UK

Odd

Posted Jun 5, 2011 on Hotels
We arrived to the scene of the receptionist having a shouting match with two customers. He was very aggresive and quite rude. I know that the Italians were excitable but he was `over the top`. We eventually got checked in and found where to park, this seemed to be a sewer. I moved the car up to the ground level. Not sure if I was supposed to but I wasnt leaviong it in those conditions. The room was fair but there was a serious damp problem with wallpaper falling from the walls. The map on the booking site showed a map with the hotel a block away from Lake Como. We thought we had gone past the hotel when we got up in to the hills... but Tom Tom told us we were there. You couldnt see the lake if you had a telescope. The surrounding area was rough but we did find a nice pizzeria with good staff and good food. On a positive side, the sheets, towels and dining romm were clean and the breakfast was nice but limited. On check out the receptionist wanted my credit card... I explained that it was a pre-paid room. He wanted `to `authenticate` it.. I have yet to see if I have been charged again.