Ratings based on 723 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice experience near excellent

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: + location + staff
Cons: Unfortunately, the double bed was the integration of two separate beds. So, we felt the addition lane of these while sleeping
Location: next to very important train station : North Lago Como, shopping streets & touristic places.
* very very friendly hotel staff. * awesome location : next to Nord Lago Train station & shopping streets * lovely lake view That was totally great experience for us !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fife Scotland

Superb Hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: Well positioned for Lake/trains/buses/funicular/shopping.
Just returned from a six night stay at the Palace Hotel Como. Absolutely faultless. Well located hotel for Lake/trains/buses. Spotlessly clean. Fresh bedding and towels on a daily basis. Stunning breakfast room with a wide selection of food. Helpful staff. A truly wonderful stay. It would be our pleasure to return some day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Old "Grand Hotel" with modern casual rooms

Posted Nov 8, 2016
First impression: "Hotel Grand Budapest" - as in famous movie. Old "Grand Hotel" that knew better times. Great facade, expensively dressed old woman, coming from main portal. Uniformed guy, also reminding a character from that movie, helping us with the baggage. Later it appeared that the great portal is not entrance to the main lobby. And inside the hotel - friendly personnel, clean contemporary rooms, rather small in size - as in most modest, but comfortable modern hotels. Good breakfast; better than in any other hotel we stayed in Northern Italy (should mention that those others were less expensive). Location - you should not wish better: facing the lake, minutes walking from all points of interest. The only thing I would wish and did not get: water kettle in the room. Maybe I should ask the personnel; I did not do it. I selected Palace Hotel mainly because we came in a rented car, and this hotel has its own parking space - for additional 16 euro a day. This is essential in Como, where parking in the streets is very difficult, and parking garages are not close to the city center. Tip for people who are driving: you should come to the hotel from the lake side and enter the front garden through the gate. By all means avoid coming from back side, which Google Map advises: that is ZTL, and you'll be fined. Also, when you come out of the hotel, you may turn only left though the street seems two way.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

joli hotel , bon rapport qualité prix

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Hotel tres bien situé, de belle architecture dans un style italien plein de charme comme nous le desirions , le bar est superbe et les " happy hours" y sont vraiment à faire et pas chers ! Convient tres bien pour un voyage en couple .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Superb hotel great location

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Location, views of lake, rooms and facilities.
Cons: I can honestly say we would have nothing that we would change.
Location: The hotel is right in the centre of como in the old district. Hotel looks out over lake with lots of restaurants shops and coffee places nearby
We stayed at the palace hotel for one night as we were travelling around lake como. From getting out the car in the car park to getting back in the car the next day was fantastic. The staff were all really friendly, efficient and worked with a smile. The hotel was grand from the outside but very modern inside. The view from the room was beautiful and looked right out over lake como. The room itself was big, spacious,clean and modern. The bathroom was also really modern and spacious. There was a mini bar fully stocked and reasonably priced. The car went in an underground facility which once you drove in at the top you got out and it went down into the parking facility automatically. The beds were big and comfortable and rooms very quiet never heard anyone else. The breakfast the next morning was in a fantastic dining hall and very good selection of food. Staff were also very friendly. Will definately be revisiting this hotel when we come back to como.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from adelaide south australia

Great view of lake.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Clean. Staff happy to assist
Cons: Lifts and bigger room
Location: Very good, location close to restaurants, shops and attractions.
room clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

コモ湖側の客室は最高の眺めです。

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: とにかく旧市街のカブール広場近くでは最高のホテルです。あとバルケッタエクセルシオールとメトロポールスイスがカブール広場前ですが、パレスホテルの格式にはかないません。
Cons: 特にありません。
Location: カブール広場や大聖堂へは2-3分の距離です。ミラノのカドルナ駅に行く国鉄駅ノルド・ラーゴ駅へは1分の立地です。
毎回このホテルを使っています。ホテルのスタッフも覚えてくれていて指定していませんが、コモ湖の見える部屋にしてくれます。いつも同じホテルに宿泊し顔なじみになることが大事と思います。特にこのホテルは、リピーターを大事にしてくれます。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida, U.S.A.

Great location, probably the best in Como.

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Ideal location between lake and historic town. Great breakfast too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dubai

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Sep 12, 2016
All in all it was good experience. I am not sure if this could be rated as a 4 star hotel if you compare it to the 4 stars in Dubai, Doha and other cities in the Gulf. The bed was not very comfortable and the pillows as well. Air conditioning was nothe cold enough.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great location

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Location, great breakfast
Location: Close to city center, ferry, restaurants, etc
Nice, older hotel right on Lake Como. Definitely should upgrade to lake view room. We took train directly from Malpensa airport in Milan. You take the Malpensa Express train from airport, with one connecting train. Very easy and quick. The hotel is one block from train station. It is also very close to the town center, with great shopping, dining, and historic sites just steps away