Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant Hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
The Hotel room spacious, good bed, very clean. Restaurant cosy and good kitchen. Perfect service
5 out of 5
by Christine from Hamilton, New Zealand

Excellent hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Hotels
This is a lovely clean and friendly hotel. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was modern. We had a lovely stay and will come back again next time. The proprietors are multilingual and really care that your stay is going well. The train is close by but we did not find the noise a problem at all. It was very convenient to be so close to the train station. Wifi was not so good in the room but perfect in the lounge area which was a very comfortable place to work or research online. If the room had have had hotel details and instructions in English also, it would maybe make it easier for some guests. Not a problem for us though. Thank you very much for such a comfortable stay.
3 out of 5
by Jaydeep from Bombay

Good, family run hotel.

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel in the village of Speicher. It is fairly close to the S21 train line but it will take atleast 20-25 mins to get to St.Gallen. The hotel is in a fairly quiet neighborhood, had a very good restaurant (but it stays closed on Sunday & Monday). Apart from the location which is a bit far from St.Gallen, everything was good for a short stay at the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Very welcoming stay

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: Relaxing. Quiet area. Friendly staff. Very clean.
Cons: Bed was a little uncomfortable, could use some better pillows.
Location: St. Gallen - World Heritage Site abbey and library Appenzell region - great drives and hikes
We had a wonderful stay at this old hotel in a small town in the hills above St. Gallen. The family who runs the place were extremely welcoming; our toddler loved playing with their children!
4 out of 5
by BE from Hong Kong

Nice Family Run B&B Type

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels
Enough parking and big public living room. Close to petrol station and supermarket.
5 out of 5
by Mikal from Durango, CO

Very welcoming and friendly

Posted Apr 4, 2014 on Hotels
Family run and all staff most helpful and friendly. Very home-like, rooms are small but just for sleeping; a living room type lounge at end of hall great for relaxing, reading. Tram is a few minutes walk and takes you right into St. Gallen, so convenient in that it is inexpensive and a nice getaway from city. Plus views from tram on rides were beautiful. Meals were also high quality and I always left table pleasantly full and satisfied. Even other guests friendy so never felt uncomfortable at any time here. Felt very much at home.
5 out of 5
by Gerry

Nice small hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2012 on Hotels
Located between Appenzell (20 minutes) and Saint Gallen (10 minutes), this is a nicely renovated small hotel with very attentive staff. Parking is free and the breakfast was one of the best we were served during a month long Switzerland "drive around". Free internet worked fine.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Did Not Have A Good Time Here

Posted Sep 29, 2010
It looks better in the photos than in actuality; it has been added on to and one half is used, the other is in semi-darkness. The may have free wi-fi, but I was not able to access it in any part of the hotel, not in the dining room, my room, the upstair den area or 5 feet from the main office. They have spa services, but unless you book it far ahead do not expect to get in; the owner does the treatments and also serves food. I asked to have my room changed to a better location for my husband with M.S. and the owner's son was hostile and unforgiving. The restaurant is good, but expensive, and it is near St. Gallen's famous abbey which is its one redeeming value. Do not expect to find a binder filled with travel information in your room to assist you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
Hab das Hotel als Übernachtungsmöglichkeit genutz auf Geschäftsreise.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Über dem Nebel

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Familiäre Atmosphäre, sehr gepflegte und feine Küche, sympatisches Personal. Ruhiger Aufenthalsraum