Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from new york

Great property in a lovely setting

Posted Jul 25, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at Cedar Manor. The hosts were great and offered advice on dining in the local area and walking directions to the town. We spent most of our time traveling the area and did not eat in the restaurant. The room was a little on the small side and the hot weather required a fan in the room which did not add to the comfort. Otherwise all good and worth a visit
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just average

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: The staff was very nice. The room was slightly larger than average.
Location: No views, no garden. Right on a main road but was able to sleep.
The room seemed fine- the bed was very comfortable. But the toilet didn't flush properly and they just said it was " really ancient" and to pump it a lot and then wait for a while before trying to flush it again. No views of anything other than the driveway, no garden, no views of the lake. And the dinner was very overpriced and ordinary. The steak was thin and overlooked. The trout was fine and the service was very attentive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Guest Relations., Hotel Management
Thanks for reviewing. We couldn't find anything wrong with the flush when we checked it and suggested that you may need to firmly flush. Your room has lovely views down onto our garden, yes, the driveway is there too. Can't really comment on your experience in the restaurant, at the time, you didn't raise any concerns. We serve rib-eye which is a thinner cut, we don't serve trout so wonder if you are confusing us with somewhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Charming English hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2017
A small hotel close to Windermere railway station but easy walking to Windermere and Bowness. Country hotel atmosphere and attentive but not obtrusive staff. Dined in one night; very good dinner featuring local ingredients and short but well-chosen wine list. It's a highly competitive market for small hotels here but we can wholeheartedly recommend the Cedar Manor Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Great hotel with magnificient staff.

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Owners, staff and food.
Cons: More items on dinner menu.
Location: Winderemere is good base for touring the Lake District.
Owners and staff were very friendly and attentive. Great restaurant. Very good breakfasts. Very clean and comfortable bedroom. Good location only 5 minutes from town centre.
5 out of 5
by mark from scunthorpe

Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
the entire staff were warm and friendly nothing to much trouble,would recommend to both family and friends and will without doubt be going back.
5 out of 5
by Kenn from Kearns NSW Australia

Give in to tranquility and luxury...

Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
It was luxury all the way from the manor itself, its location to the lake, the friendly and charming hosts and food which was in abundance and first class.
5 out of 5
by Joan from Atherton

Satisfied customers

Posted Feb 26, 2016 on Hotels
Fabulous hotel in great location. Friendly, accommodating staff. Breakfast was lovely.
5 out of 5
by James from Stockport

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely stay! Hotel was superb and very friendly! We highly recommend it!
4 out of 5
by Ian from London

Great small hotel with excellent food

Posted Oct 24, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel with excellent food. The best part of the trip was the excellent advice given by Jonathan about walks in the area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from BOCA RATON, FLORIDA

WONDERFUL SMALL HOTEL IN THE LAKE DISTRICT

Posted Sep 10, 2015
Pros: PERSONALIZED SERVICE, SMALL AND INTIMATE
Location: SHOPPING IN THE TOWNS OF WINDEMERE AND BOWNESS AS WELL AS ENJOYING THE SCENERY. THIS IS NOT THE BIG CITY BUT HAS ENOUGH TO DO TO KEEP YOU OCCUPIED.
A VERY EXCEPTIONAL SMALL HOTEL WITH A VERY VERY GOOD RESTAURANT. BREAKFAST WAS ALSO EXCEPTIONAL ( MANY CHOICES COOKED TO ORDER) WITH GREAT SERVICE. HAD A NICE SMALL BAR AVAILABLE LATE AFTER DINNER TO MIX WITH OTHER DINNER GUESTS AND HAVE AN AFTER DINNER DRINK. THE HOSTS AND OWNERS COULDN'T DO ENOUGH FOR THE GUESTS.