Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely guest house close to the lakes

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Parking is difficult but the owner rang me to guide me to a reserved space. Well looked after guest house in great position to visit the lakes. Very friendly and attentive owner , room and facilities excellent great value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Suitable accommodation for a short stay.

Posted Sep 23, 2017
We enjoyed our stay here which included breakfast. The house was close to most of the shops and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west yorkshire

Handy situation .

Posted Sep 18, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at Bowness. Last stayed 46 years ago and it rained every day . At least we only had a few showers nothing to spoil our 4 day visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Cons: Needs renovating throughout.
A tired old guesthouse from the late 20th century.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow, Scotland

Great location

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Elm house is only a few minutes walk from the town centre and lakeside. The area is quiet and residential and off street parking is very restricted. Elm House however has some private parking apacesat the rear of the property for guests. The gardens are beautifully maintained and breakfast is plentiful and of good quality. Hotel prices in the Lake District can be quite high in the high season but Elm house is very reasonable and very good value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Was made to feel very much at home and Judith told us as much as we needed to know when we first got there which was excellent as a first visitor to Windermere
1 out of 5
by Pirashanthy

Worst place We ever stayed in

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
The lady that runs the place was rude and made us wait 20 min because she was having dinner and don't want her food to go cold. I don't know what kind of customer service that is, but very appalling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Simple but lovely hotel and comfortable stay

Posted May 31, 2017
Room was simply furnished but clean and everything worked such as heater and water heater. Close to the lake and Beatrice Potter attraction. Many shops around too. The owner, Judith, was also also helpful with directions etc. Many choices for breakfast and portions were sufficient. A most pleasant stay. Recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely location, cute B&B

Posted May 28, 2017
Elim House is perfectly located to the amenities in Bowness. The landlady, Judith, was very polite and welcoming throughout our stay. The breakfast was very good, bed was very comfy and everything was very clean. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
by Michael

Very pleasant stay

Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location. Good breakfast (cooked English breakfast complemented with fruit juice and a choice of cereals, toast and tea/coffee, or alternatively continental) but only served during a one hour period and pre-ordered the night before. The bedroom (located in the annex at the rear of the property and hence very quite) was small but clean (non-smoking), comfortable and reasonably well equipped with a large bathroom. Both rooms were electrically heated.