Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely place to stay

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Great hotel. Had some problems getting the room originally ordered with a view. Had to move on 2nd night after argument that a view of a car park was not in line with what had been promised at booking. Restaurant expensive but excellent although limited - to be expected from such a small hotel. Would visit again but would need reassurance that booking and actuality matched.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Boutique Hotel with fantastic views

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Very nice boutique hotel offering great views over Lake Windermere and the surrounding peaks. Hotel staff was very friendly and attentive. The restaurant is definitely to be recommended as well, we had a great dining experience there. Room had a very good size and came with a big modern bathroom as well as an outside terrace. Only minor let-down was the lack of Wifi in the room (Wifi is available in the lounge/restaurant/reception area and they are in the process of upgrading to make it available in the rooms, too). Overall we had a very pleasant and enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coventry

Lovely get away

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Hotel was lovely and in a beautiful location. We had a double room which shares a terrace with 2 other rooms. There was a great view of the lake and hills. For what we paid I think the room was basic, however it was comfortable and had everything we needed and we had the amazing views! Breakfast was lovely! Service a little bit slow at times but the food was great. Didn't use restaurant for anything other than breakfast. The location was perfect.. right in between windermere and ambleside. Overall we had an amazing time exploring the lake district and this hotel was a lovely base for us to use.
2 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Paul

Beautiful location

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely room number 21, have views of lake and fields. Breakfast was the best I've ever had EVER, excellent quality ingredients sourced locally,fantastic Main meal was good but we booked for 9pm,and was told to come down at 8:30 for canapés, was finally shown to table at 9:30 then had to order and wait till 10pm for first course finished our meal at 11:30pm. That was way too late for us. Suggest on arrival for canapés we should be shown the menu and order placed that way shown to our table for first course when it's arrive, that would save an hour plus and be a better experience for guests, most good restaurants do this.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Breathtaking View

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Fantastic view, lovely room and welcoming staff. I've been asked to add a bit more on my review regarding good points before it can be submitted which is why I am adding this
Cons: The Food was very disappointing. Talk about the Kings Clothes!!! The starter I had was Tuna. What arrived was 5 tiny litttle disks of Tuna about the size of a new Ip piece some other tiny bits and bobs. And a couple of Popcorn Marshmallows!!! The tiny bits of Tuna where quite salty as expected, but to combine this with very sickly sweet Marshmallow can only be described as VILE!!! The main course long legged partridge can only be described as instantly forgettable, as carnt think of anything positive or negative to say about it. My partners food was equally disappointing the starter was suppose to be duck, and turned out to be patte of some description, not nice at all. The pork was also somewhat bland. I think the chef needs to go back to school as somewhere along the line he has forgotten the main consideration, that food is for Eating not just for looking at. And this is a classic example of Style over Substance. Before the chef retorts with the usual patronising not having a refined pallet, I may hasten to add I have personally eaten in some of the finest restaurants throughout the world. The Holbeck Gyll is unfortunately not one of them
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A beautiful hotel in the perfect location

Posted Aug 19, 2016
A truly wonderful stay. Wish it could have been longer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from worcester park

Pleasant country house hotel in secluded setting

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pros: The location was secluded and views were wonderful. Accommodation was good with spacious rooms .
Cons: Staff were not particularly friendly.
Location: Was well located for walks and town nearby for shops or ferries for tours of Windermere lake.
We had a lovely stay at the Holbeck Ghyll, we celebrated our 25th Anniversary and were upgraded which was a pleasant surprise. The restaurant was excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2015 on Hotels
It would be better if the hot and cold water for the washing basin inside the toilet could be combined to produce warm water.
5 out of 5
by Chi Keung from Hong Kong

Posted Jul 15, 2015 on Hotels
The hot and cold water for the washing basin in the toilet come in separate taps, therefore we cannot use warm water for teeth-brushing.