Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Warm atmosphere, country retreat near Cockermouth

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Ebookers
Really comfortable hotel perfect for our trip to Woolfest. Beautiful setting. Staff very accommodating. Only drawbacks were Wifi signal not good and breakfast options v traditional. Thank you for a nice stay!
5 out of 5
by BONGKYU

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stunning location but very very average

Posted Dec 5, 2016
On arrival the staff thought it was amusing that I had paid so much for one room through Expedia ! Well the joke really was on me To sum the room up all I can say is 'carpet in the bathroom ',how unhygienic and disgusting is that . So never again
5 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Gail

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable stay

Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
Enoy our stay and would like to come back for a longer stay
3 out of 5
by Robert from Edinburgh

Good hotel and location BUT

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
I booked a single room and I thought £91 to sleep in a cupboard was a bit steep. There really wasn't any room to swing a cat and the room had the narrowest wardrobe I have ever seen just to fit it in. However. The food was great as was the service. Overall I would stay here again but not in a single room.
4 out of 5
by Debbie from Pickering

Stay 26th June 2015

Posted Jun 30, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed in the hotel with my daughter and granddaughter, we were going to Woolfest in Cockermouth, so the hotel was very handy. The hotel was lovely, we had a family room (room 6) there was plenty of room for all of us. The location is very pretty, would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A very good hotel for the price

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
A very nice location close to Cockermouth. Room was spacious, clean and tasteful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and staff

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: Staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was spotlessly clean (as was the whole hotel) & the grounds were beautiful. Dinner was great too.
Cons: Nothing
We booked the family room at the last minute as we were travelling down south from Scotland and wanted a night in The Lakes en-route. What a brilliant find, we would definitely be pleased to recommend.