Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Lovely location and wonderful staff

Posted Jul 19, 2017
This was possibly the most wonderful hotel in which I have ever stayed. The grounds were spectacular with trees, bushes and flowers from all parts of the world. The view was unbelievable, the food was wonderful and the room superb! I will dream of this place forever! (The cost was reasonable as well!). If you have the opportunity, definitely stay here!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hong kong

Room smell

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Room smell , and hotel should do something about it, before customer check in ! No other room availabe to change, so we have to stay as is.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice bedroom, but beware the old fashioned rules

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
To start with the positives, and arguably the most important element, the bedroom was great. Very spacious, very clean, very comfortable. Housekeeping did a great job and absolutely no complaints on that front. However, the rest of the hotel feels dreadfully stuffy. Dress codes and formal dining, in 2017, in the Lake District? Heaven forbid someone might wear smart jeans for supper! If you are looking for a relaxed break, this is not it, especially if you are of the younger generation. Breakfasts were fine, though not spectacular. It feels like a slight time warp, the kind where you ought to bring your brass buttoned blazer and club tie. Wonderful for those who like that sort of thing, old fashioned for those who don't. This is not a negative review, just a heads up if, like us, you are looking for a decent base but aren't a fan of nonsense rules. It felt like the hotel thinks it is more upmarket than perhaps it is. There was no concierge for example, or someone who could even recommend somewhere good to eat locally. For the record, a great place (where you can even wear jeans) is the Troutbeck Inn. Truly excellent food and unfussy service.
5 out of 5
by Darren

A Great Find!

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic three days in a wonderful hotel where the staff were friendly and helpful and always willing to go the extra mile. Looking forward to my next stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent in all ways
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from r

Top

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Relaxing and classy. Enough said.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Shields

Beautiful views of Ullswater

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: The quiet peaceful gardens and lake views - great public areas with good views - excellent staff - excellent food
Cons: Need to ensure that the booking systems are working properly - it was very annoying to have all the messing about at check-in.
On first arrival, staff were very efficient, straight to our room, even though we had arrived a bit early. Too good to be true... it was the wrong room... we'd been downgraded! Back to reception, checks of the system showed that for some "unexplainable" reason, our booking with Expedia had "somehow" not transferred between the two systems properly! We were assured that they had never seen it before and couldn't explain it! A few minutes hanging around and they finally agreed that we had booked the higher grade room, but we would have to wait a few minutes while the room was checked..... An hour later and some chasing, we were finally shown to the correct room.... Well worth the wait, in the end.. A lovely room with a balcony overlooking the gardens with views to Ullswater and the mountains behind.... just what we had booked. The hotel itself is very well run, the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, dinners and breakfasts were superb... The overall experience was brilliant and we will be back to stay again... but hopefully without the check-in problems
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Old English Luxury in a stunning headline

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Pros: This hotel is a step back in time, where service is king! Nothing is too much for the staff, to drinks in the lounge by the fire, the service in the restaurant where the food is superb and to bring ice and fresh milk to your room for your water and tea. The bed was comfortable and the room large for 2 people, allowing a perfect space to unwind after a day out at the lakes
Cons: There wasn't anything we didn't like - just be aware as it is an older hotel it does creak!
Location: Hotel is not the closest to large villages or towns, so eating in is highly likely. Not that this is a negative as food and service is fantastic
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful lake stay

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Very relaxing stay.