Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall UK

Melbourne Cottage, Bowness on Windermere.

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: The Proprieters were friendly and helpful the guestt house was pleasing and the facilities good.
Cons: N/A
Location: Well situated for the town and restaurants etc.
Friendly good food and excellent facilities, convenient for the town.
5 out of 5
by Jon

Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Hotels
Such a lovely place to stay, great value for money, excellent breakfast and lovely hosts. We will definitely come back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leicester

Great place close to pretty much everything

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We stayed 2 nights for our mini moon and really enjoyed our stay. Room was lovely and clean,not a huge room but great for what we needed as didn't spend much time in there. The staff were lovely we arrived later than check in but a key was left in the safe box for us so was not a problem. Breakfast was lovely and cooked fresh to order with a wide selection of cereal toast etc. On the door step in bowness and just a 15-20 min walk your in Windermere. We would definitely stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by melbourne, Hotel Management
thank you so much for the review and pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope we may see you both again in the future!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Llandudno, N.Wales

Room facilities needed sorting.

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Had expected ensuite room, but separate toilet and separate shower room. This should have been specified when booking. Toilet was not flushing properly initially. Was sorted fairly quickly. Room did not have proper curtains and blind only went half way down. Light through the window made it difficult to sleep after 5.30am. Needs proper thick curtains to block light out or blinds that cover the whole of the window.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by melbourne, Hotel Management
sorry you felt that the room was not suitable for you. It was the single room which is THE only room with adjacent private external en suite and other guests have loved their stay there. The blind is a black-out one and i notice you had broken it once you had left and there are voiles too. I appreciate your feedback and i will add curtains in the future. thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable friendly b&b

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Perfect stay for me in this well positioned b&b. Friendly welcome, early check in, great atmosphere, delicious breakfast, friendly host, thank you Julie really enjoyed my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by melbourne, Hotel Management
thank you so much for taking the time and posting a review! so pleased you enjoyed your stay It was lovely to meet you and hope to see you again. kind regards Julie and Russell
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Soap in the bathroom
The Melbourne Guest House was a home away from home. Handy too great restaurants and shopping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and very close to lake

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Very close to lake & very tidy hotel
Nice hotel and it's 5 minutes walk to lake. Breakfast was very nice. Room was bit small but it's well organized.
5 out of 5
by Jordan

Excellent guesthouse

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent guest house situated in the Windermere/bowness lake region. Arrived to a pleasant reception from the owners of the guesthouse. Room was very clean and tidy however the room we stayed in (number 3) was rather small but the other couples we travelled with said there rooms were excellent and of a good size. Good cooked breakfast on the morning. Great location as all the pubs and attractions are approximately 5/10 minute walk away. Excellent place all round the small room was just a minor incovienece but was fine for the two nights we spent here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely B&B with friendly owners.

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Ebookers
Really nice find for a last minute booking. Spotlessly clean place with owners who are very welcoming and friendly. It's up the hill in Bowness, opposite cinema, with off street parking. We managed to find a space even in half term. The breakfast was superb with fresh quality ingredients cooked beautifully. Would definitely recommend and stay again. Only reason I haven't gave it full marks is en suite room was quite tight but I booked last minute and took the only room available so more my fault than theirs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Lovely little B&B

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Great place to stay when visiting Windermere! The B&B is ideally located, 5 min walk from the lake and cruise departure points. Quiet location, with all the charm you would expect from an English B&B. Breakfast was plentiful and very good. Very clean. Julie was great!