Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond VA

Wonderful old hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Everything was excellent. Freshed cooked breakfast to order. Two small concerns. No elevator so be sure to request a first floor room if walking up stairs is a problem. Also the Nanny Brow does not have a restaaurant so all other meals must be taken elsewhere. However, there is so much to see and do in the lake district, we were always outside anyway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Night away

Posted May 30, 2017
Lovely views from our room. Everything was nice. Breakfast was really good and the owners very friendly
5 out of 5
by Jason

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby

Great friendly hotel in a great location.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Hotel has a great relaxing atmosphere and is very friendly.
Cons: Nothing I would change about our experience at Nanny Brow.
Location: Location is great for walking with access from the hotel. Ambleside is only a couple minutes away and very easy to get to, taxi is about £6.
A friendly welcome greets you at the hotel. Everything is explained about the hotel and puts all worries at ease. The room we stayed in had great views down the valley and was very spacious, fresh cake each day in the room was a very nice touch. Bathroom was very well presented and shower was very refreshing. They have a book in the main lounge with plenty of walks around the area with detailed instructions making them easy to follow. With access from the back of the hotel straight onto several walks made the whole experience very stress free with it being our first time visiting the lakes and wanting to do several walks. Breakfast was lovely each day with plenty of choice. It is easy to get into Ambleside which has plenty of places to eat, Nanny Brow send you a great list of restaurants they recommend, which has a variety of options. I would definitely stay at Nanny Brow again and would recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle Upon Tyne

Lovely place to stay very close to Ambleside.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Beautifully restored arts and craft hotel, with great attention to interior decor and very comfortable rooms.
Cons: Nothing obvious springs to mind.
Location: Great walks all around.
Three day stay in a lovely setting enabling great walking from all directions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wakefield

Wonderful 'family-feel' hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2017
We stayed for two nights for my boyfriend's birthday - the hotel itself is beautiful, as are it's surroundings. The welcome was warm and the room was very clean and beautifully decorated. All the staff couldn't do enough for us - homemade cakes were left for us each day, drinks served on request and anything we asked for was attended to with no problems at all. Although the weather wasn't great, the lounge area of the hotel meant we were never bored. Breakfast was lovely. We will definitely be returning!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Exeter

Classy B and B in beautiful location

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: AS above
Location: Explore the beautiful lake district, go along the passes! Visit Grasmere.
A pleasant couple of nights stay in this hotel, lovely extra touches such as cake in your room every day! lovely Art Deco hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxury hotel.

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
It was a pleasure to stay at Nanny Brow. The hotel was perfectly situated for walking, shopping and dining. The proprietors Sue and Peter were perfect hosts and even sorted out a booking at nearby Zeffirelli's. The suite we stayed in was very clean and spacious and the luxury bathroom was just that. The breakfast was superb and the service excellent. A very pleasing experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Idillic!

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
From minute one we loved our stay. As soon as we arrived we were met at the door by the lovely Sue who owns Nanny Brow and her two gorgeous collie dogs. Sue gave us a full run down of what to expect from our stay, places to visit, places to eat and so much more. We were then shown to our room. We stayed in the room called 'Lingmoor', this didn't disappoint, the room was quite large, very comfortable with plenty of space, kettle and cups, a full array of tea blend choices and coffee too, bedside tables, good sized wardrobe and bureau and a table and chairs situated in the bay window aperture overlooking the beautiful countryside with freshly made Lemon Drizzle cake waiting for us on the table!.. heaven!! We had a massive En Suite with double sinks AND shower, all very well presented throughout. breakfast was well cooked to your exact specification, in whatever combination, not just a load of food under hot lamps. The staff were excellent and very polite too. Sue drafted us up a planner for one of our days to help with the sight seeing which was invaluable! As we aren't hardcore walkers we drove to many different places, like Keswick, Coniston, Grasmere, Tarn Hows, Kirkstone pass, Ullswater, Pooley Bridge and many, many more and took it all in with stopovers. Her planner saved us a lot of time and helped us to see much more than if we had just gone on a mystery tour! We would not hesitate to go back and would thoroughly endorse Nanny Brow to anyone staying in the Lakes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peace and Tranquility.. If you want!!

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: The location is a picture, so peaceful. There are easy relaxed walks to more challenging and beautiful hidden waterfalls.
The Hotel is so warm and friendly. Sue and her husband will ensure your stay is a comfortable as possible and point you in the right direction to explore the Lakes. Sue bakes her own cakes and biscuits, which are left every morning in the room. Breakfast is something to look forward to. Definitely would recommend stay at Nanny Brow.