Ratings based on 242 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LEEDS

REVIEW

Posted Dec 19, 2017
HOTEL WAS CLEAN, NEAT AND TIDY, COMFORTABLE AND GOOD LOCATION. ONLY DOWNSIDE WAS WE WERE CHARGED FOR A BOTTLE OF WINE WE HAD NOT ORDERED BUT I DID'NT NOTICE UNTIL WE HAD CHECKED OUT. MY FAULT REALLY!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Exceeded Expectations

Posted Nov 28, 2017
This was a last minute booking for us, as we were menat to be camping in Keswick, but after the recent storms we were told the campsite was flooded and choose to stay at the Regent in Ambleside instead and managed to book the last room availiable. We normally opt for 4 star hotels and despite the Regent being a 3 star we were not disappointed and in fact we thought it was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. All the staff were extremley helpful and friendly. The room we stayed in was a standard room, which was excellent and very clean. The location was also brilliant, close to the lake side and about a 10-15 minute walk into the centre of Ambleside. We will definatley be staying again!
4 out of 5
by Richard

One night stay

Posted Nov 22, 2017 on Hotels
Nice stay, actual hotel reception, bar area etc very nice and clean, staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was a little small and tired and could do with doing up. Had breakfast in morning, little disappointed that one plate was not what asked for, didn’t make a fuss but maybe should have. Would stay again but not for the rate paid, thought too much for room type etc.
5 out of 5
by Denise

Comfortable stay, great breakfast service.

Posted Nov 21, 2017 on Hotels
Good value, comfortable hotel in a convenient location for Ambleside. Great breakfast served until 12.00 with a good range of hot and cold options.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Lakeside break

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: Able to abandon car to hotel park for duration of stay and enjoy local amenities either on foot or with aid of bus services. Non smoking throughout.
Location: By lake shore. Many local walks varying from easy rambles to more vigorous hikes.
Enjoyable stay. Hotel exceeded our expectations. Will certainly consider repeating our visit in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire

Spotless & Relaxing

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: N/a
Location: Ŕight by the lake, so walks and lake cruises on the doorstep. 5 minute walk into Ambleside for shopping.
Caring but not intrusive staff. Breakfasts are wonderful. The bubbly blonde breakfast host was a real asset to the hotel. She was very friendly and knows her job inside out! The hotel was spotless and very comfortable. We will return to this lovely hotel by the lake.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cheshire

Very comfortable, great location

Posted Nov 5, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Location, quiet room, very comfortable mattress. Good food
Cons: Showers. Over-bath showers are never comfortable and always leak. At least in some rooms I would take out the bath, replace with large walk in shower
Location: Handy for Ambleside town centre and a base for walking
A 2 night break, had a superior double which gave us plenty of room to spread out, and was very comfortable (including the mattress). Food, particularly the breakfasts were excellent.
5 out of 5
by david

Posted Nov 2, 2017 on Hotels
very nice
4 out of 5
by Neil

Highly recommended

Posted Nov 2, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice hotel, warm, quite modern. As a previous review, I did think the bathroom could do with an upgrade, it was perfectly acceptable & clean (shower powerful too) but it wasn't quite the standard of the rest of the hotel. Service was impeccable, polite & knowledgeable front desk staff, bar/restaurant staff professional & friendly. Quiet location but another bar/restaurant opposite if the hotels facilities don't suit (no reason they shouldn't, didn't eat but what I saw of the menu & food, it looked great). 15 min steady walk into Ambleside & plenty of other attractions (Windermere/Grasmere etc) on your doorstep. Overall a good recommend.