Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puyallup, Wa

Wonderful hotel in the perfect location!

Posted Aug 20, 2017
My only regret staying at this hotel was that we only stayed one night! The beds were comfortable, the breakfast was delicious, the staff was friendly and the location was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from northants

High quality hotel and food with good location

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Very comfortable and spacious room. Nice decor. Excellent restaurant although we actually preferred the lounge menu. Attentive and friendly service. I'm
5 out of 5
by Catherine

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was lovely and comfortable. The staff were friendly and very helpful. We took our dog and were given a lovely ground floor room with a garden area, we were even given our own dog friendly breakfast area. The breakfast was beautiful and the gardens were gorgeous. The hotel was expensive and possibly a bit posh for us but sometimes its good to treat yourselves and the dog
5 out of 5
by paul

Rothay Manor Hotel, Ambleside.

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
great place to stay lovely hotel lovely friendly people.
5 out of 5
by Bruce

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
It was a beautiful estate!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Lakes Hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: the staff
Very friendly and helpful staff, good facilities, comfy and clean. Very good location for a walking break in the Lakes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lakeland night out!

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel under new owners who have quite a bit of work to do upgrading the rooms to justify the B&B rates. Very friendly check in, and all staff generally excellent. Didn't eat dinner but breakfast good and served promptly although not sure the cooked items were freshly cooked!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kirkcaldy

Manor House Comfort in Ambleside.

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Comfort, good food and excellent service.
Location: A good base for a visit to the Lake District. Easy access to road network and local attractions.
A warm and friendly welcome awaits all who visit Rothay Manor. The helpful staff make sure you have all you need for a relaxing holiday, making this feel more home than hotel, with all wishes catered for. The dining experience was first class. The restaurant offering creative menus with food preparation and presentation excellent. Leave the car in the hotel car park and enjoy walking around this delightful village and surrounding countryside. Even the dog was catered for at Rothat Manor, there was a bowl towels and food treats, not to mention a wonderful woodland garden to walk in or just sit down and enjoy sunshine.
5 out of 5
by John from Ditchling

Lakes in comfort

Posted Aug 25, 2016 on Hotels
Lodge Wansfell was spacious and comfortable with a separate sitting area. A very comfortable bed and a first class bathroom with a separate shower. It has its own entrance and you can park just outside near a small patio
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Staff was friendly, helpful, courteous . They were professional. Room was large , well equiped and cleared. They served fantastic dishes. Everything was so tasty and beautiful. In addition services by staff was excellent as well. If I have a chance to visit lake district, I definitely stay this hotel again. Strongly recommend.