Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Midlands

A proper little haven

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Location, ambience, dining, views, staff.
Cons: Daily replenishment of "courtesy makings" to augment coffee / teas in bedrooms.
Location: Whilst the narrow country lanes demand vigilant driver input, a wealth of lake-land attractions are within easy reach.
Sawrey House was our ultimate stay after 10 days of English / Scottish travelling, bedevilled by foul weather. Whilst the weather remained awful, the hotel proved a haven to sooth our frazzled nerves. The premises have been comprehensively, tastefully and effectively refurbished and exuded a delightfully "country house" ambience. Set in glorious (if damp) lake-land countryside, with gardens and views to match, it was well appointed, comfortable, pin neat and presented the finest dining experience we've had for ages. The chef's "Specials" were exceptional, particularly the locally sourced lamb. Excellent breakfasts too. Staff were approachable, efficient and accommodating. We shall return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great location and setting

Posted Sep 8, 2017
This staff at this hotel were pleasant and helpful. Some were young and new to the job but tried very hard. Unfortunately the quality of bed making and room cleaning was found wanting! The food improved over our four night stay especially the breakfasts. Maybe the chef returned from holiday? In general considering the prices the standard should have been better.
4 out of 5
by Kevin

Comfortable, quiet and a good breakfact

Posted Sep 1, 2017 on Hotels
Arrived at 15:00 (no problem parking then or at anytime during my stay) and was checked-in and guided to my room by 15:10. I was B&B with the "B"ed comfortable in a well decorated room and the cooked to order "B"reakfast was good. The hotel is in quiet location with a good view from the terrace
5 out of 5
by Ian

Peaceful, stylish, picturesque, great location.

Posted Aug 26, 2017 on Hotels
This gem of a hotel is set in the delightful village of Near Sawrey next to Beatrix Potter's home, Hill Top. It is away from the hustle of the central Lakes with views over Esthwaite Water. The hotel is stylish and comfortable, the staff are very welcoming and the food is amazing. I had wood pigeon and it was cooked to perfection. Most ingredients are sourced locally, the Cumbrian sausages at breakfast were the best I've tasted. My room was freshly decorated, clean and had all you need for a relaxing stay. Well worth travelling a few more miles to get away from the hordes, but still only 20 minutes from Ambleside. Whilst the hotel is presented to a high standard and offers quality accommodation beyond its rating the welcome was genuine and relaxed. Fantastic value!
5 out of 5
by Adrian

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel with attention to detail
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs to up its game - a lot

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
Poor value for money. No welcome on arrival, surly service in the restaurant, room tired and grubby, furniture shabby, floor never vacuumed (crumbs from previous occupants still there when we left), bed not made properly, no curtains (!), hopeless wi-fi service in room, shower door falling off, shower water running from cold to scalding in use. 3% surcharge for credit cards. Steep and narrow stairs to room, ventilation poor in heat. Food we had good however and views/location lovely. Place in need of major refurbishment and more effective management.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Next to Hill Top

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: It has beautiful views, and is right next to Beatrix Potter's House, Hill Top. It is an old country house, but has been refurbished to a good standard
Cons: The car parking is a problem, which they acknowledge. There is a shortage of staff, and we could not check out when we left.
Location: Beatrix Potter's house, Claife Heights, Hawkshead village, Latterbarrow, Windermere Lake, the ferry to Bowness, are all close and an easy walk away.
A very pleasant couple of days in the Lakes, in Beatrix Potter country. Lovely walks and views, of hills, tarns and Windermere. The breakfast settings were very good, with a wide range of different options, the cooked breakfast was freshly cooked to order, and very well presented. The evening meals were also well presented, well cooked, and fresh. The Chef has a skill for interesting combinations which we enjoyed. Local produce was used extensively, and there were some very tasty cheeses. Buses go from near the hotel to Hawkshead and Bowness ferry during the summer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Very pleasant and characterful hotel

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Hotel was well maintained, comfortable, clean and welcoming. All the staff were polite, friendly and helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again next time I'm in the Lakes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor attention to detail

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel and public spaces but poor attention to detail on the room (rm6). Extract fan not working, bathroom mirror light not working, toilet roll holder and towel rail falling off the wall, bathroom dirty (door), room very small, ceiling wallpaper cracking, old disused smoke alarm back panel left in place but clearly no longer required, TV facility poor attempt (cheap product/fixing/no casing/in the way)...as i said, poor attention to detail lets it down. Lovely/friendly/helpful staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well priced in a lovely location

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel, very good staff and great breakfast! Room was quite small though (we were on the top floor) and the wifi was quite unreliable. But overall was a great stay at a good price. Thanks!