Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Alan

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
2 days at the hotel, one meal in the restaurant, one in the bar. Comfortable room, good fast service in the bar despite very busy on a Monday evening. Some chairs in the room looked rather shabby, some black specs came out of the whirlpool bath. Walking from the door is excellent
4 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by David from Royton

Not really a dog friendly hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel staff were really good. Even though the hotel claims to be dog friendly, you cannot take your dog into the breakfast dining area and are asked to leave your dog in your car whilst you eat. Fortunately, a member of staff on hotel reception offered to look after our dog so we could have a breakfast. No mobile signal at all in the area and can only get wifi in hotel reception.
5 out of 5
by Colette from Melton Mowbray

Bank holiday treat.

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
Had a great stay at the Scafell Hotel. All the staff were attentive, friendly and professional. The hotel has a great feel to it. It's an eclectic mix of the new and old. The room was a good size, you know how much kit you have when you're walking and the bathroom was fab, hot water, hot towels, great shower and bath if you needed to soak. We loved the hotel, the Riverside bar, where the food was very good and reasonably priced. The location is amazing. We have stayed at several locations throughout the Lakes and would happily return to this one. There really is something about it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carlisle

Christmas in the Lakes

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Pros: I really liked the friendlieness of the staff as they welcomed us to the Hotel and made us feel at home.
Cons: Carpet in room 5 could be replaced.
Location: Set in the heart of the Borrowdale valley, the scenery is beautiful, and there are plenty of lovely walks to be taken.
We have just spent a lovely Christmas in the Lakes. Our experiance was one of total relaxation, with good food and company.
2 out of 5
by Shayma from London

Overpriced hotel in good location

Posted Sep 11, 2015 on Hotels
Borrowdale is a great location, and the hotel could be good value, if only the rooms had been redecorated in the past 10 years and/or it didn't cost £130 a night. Very old fashioned. Lounge areas were OK. Food in the bar was mixed; 2 of 4 meals good. Staff friendly enough.
4 out of 5
by Monika from Douglas

Scafell hotel service excellent

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
All the staff were excellent ! !!! Food was good Location great Only negatives Room smelled musty & the shower wasn't powerful but the service, food & location made up for it.
4 out of 5
by Mary from London

Friendly, comfortable hotel in a beautiful spot

Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
Our room was comfortable, spotlessly clean, and had all the amenities we wanted (except for WiFi, which my son was a bit disappointed about). WiFi is only available in a designated public room on the ground floor. When we asked to book for the restaurant, we were advised to eat in the bar (which I hadn't known about), as it was more child-friendly; this was great advice. Overall, the food was good and the service excellent. We had a good night's sleep in a room overlooking the river.
5 out of 5
by Joan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 5, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Anna from London

Perfect location for a weekend walking getaway

Posted Jul 22, 2015 on Hotels
We had a very enjoyable stay at the Scafell Hotel as part of a quick weekend walking getaway. We arrived late at night and were warmly greeted at the reception. Our room was spacious, clean and had a very comfortable king-size bed. The decor was a tasteful combination of old with new features. The bathroom was newly decorated, with double washbasins and an impressive whirlpool bath. Wifi is only available downstairs but there are a number of sitting rooms to lounge in in the evenings. The breakfast menu was generous and tasty with a lot of different cooked options. We didn't bring a car with us but the hotel is situated right in the middle of the Borrowdale valley within easy walking distance of Glaramara, Great Gable, High Spy and Derwentwater and right next to a bus stop with buses to Keswick and Honister Pass. We ate in the evenings at the hotel bar at the back of the hotel, which serves a hearty menu and good beer. Lovely stay - would definitely recommend it!