Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wirral

Cosy Cumbrian Retreat.

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: The atmosphere was very relaxed with the impression nothing was too much trouble.
Cons: The entrance and parking facilities.
Location: All the usual things to do when staying in the Lakes.
On arrival we were greeted very warmly and shown to our room with minimal fuss. The room was comfortable with a view overlooking a wooded area. Being unsure of the area we decided to dine in. What a great decision that was as the food is extremely good. The Knoll Country House staff have an easy going charm which puts guests at ease which makes for a pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Hotel south of Windermere

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Service
Cons: See above - fresh entrance and stairway
Location: Quieter location which was welcome. Lovely surroundings
Access and exit to hotel from the road are not easy - can be dangerous. Stairwell and entrance hall smelt unclean and as if it had not been thoroughly cleaned - no through air flow. This unpleasant smell adversely affected the entrance to the hotel. The bedroom was clean and very pleasant- facilities were good. Breakfast was excellent and the staff extremely good and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cheshire

Lovely stay in South Lakes

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The owners, lovely sitting room with candles and fire, comfortable bed, great breakfast
Cons: Nothing
Location: Near the lake , walk up to high dam, visit the bobbin factory
What a wonderful place to stay! Gorgeous house and fabulous hospitality from hosts who clearly love and take a great pride in what they are doing. Breakfast was excellent with imaginative touches... lots of choice with great vegetarian and vegan options.
5 out of 5
by Ldg22 from Yarm, UK

Highly recommended

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Hotels
A lovely country house. The owner was charming and extremely accomodating. And breakfast was delicious.
5 out of 5
by Rebecca

Amazing weekend getaway

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
From the first point of contact with staff before our stay all the way through to checkout we could not have been more impressed by the level of service provided. The staff went above and beyond our expectations and the hotel was beautifully presented. The room was lovely and nothing that I could fault.
5 out of 5
by Anthony

Beautiful hotel, quality, service & excellence

Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
Outstanding rooms and excellent customer service, we really felt like guests at somebody's lavish home. The rooms were beautifully decorated and tremendously comfortable. We were made to feel very welcome and our specific needs catered for. I was initially put off by the lack of a restaurant dinner service at the height of summer, but understand that it is not possible to run a restaurant if your guests can't commit to dinner. By substitute the platters that are made available are of a high quality and excellent value for money. The breakfast service was the highlight for me and was exceptional both in terms of choice and quality.
5 out of 5
by carolyn

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful hosts. Breakfast excellent. Couldn't have made a better choice. Would return in a flash
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Great hosts and wonderful breakfast.
Had a great time at Knoll House -- near the lake and easy location from which to explore Lake Windermere and the Lake District.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Solihull

Peaceful haven for a perfect short break.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Staff attentive, efficient but not overbearing. Building and rooms spacious ,clean and full of character.
Cons: Only minor thing is the fire doors are harsh closing, so loud when other guests return to rooms at night.
Location: Perfect location......Lakeside only 5 min walk away with Windermere boat rides, steam railway ,aquarium. Also bobbin mill 5 min walk from hotel.
Absolutely perfect quiet and luxurious country house hotel, situated in a fantastic spot 10 minutes walk away from Lakeside boat landing ,aquarium and steam railway. Also next to hotel is a beautiful path to Finisthwaite village and High Dam. Village of Newby Bridge was 5 min drive away with a fabulous pub/restaurant called The Swan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Breakfast and friendly staff

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Stayed here to go to Cartmel Races. The Knoll is tastefully decorated with large bedrooms and comfortable beds. The breakfast and hopitality were 1st class