Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michael from St. Paul

Needs a MAJOR Renovation

Posted Nov 30, 2014 on Hotels
This is a historic hotel. The common areas and the restaurant are great. Our room was very small and tired. The bathroom had been remodeled and was very nice. The rest of the room needed a major overhaul. The wiring was all wiremold; It still had a SMALL analog TV; The furnishings were probably at least 20 years old (not old enough to be antiques), etc.... This hotel has great potential if they would do a MAJOR renovation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overpriced for what you recieve.

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: The history.
Cons: Furniture, carpet, walls are dated and deteriorating. Service at breakfast was awol.
Location: Excellent on all counts.
Stepped back into the English countryside. A nice break from contemporary upscale hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sheila from California

Deerpath Inn

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel was built in 1929 and the bathrooms are very small, but updated. Location is great...about one block from the town square. Helpful and friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by John from Hinsdale

Hidded treasured Inn, with well trained kind help!

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels
From the time impulled up, your young man was so very kind,patient & helpful, He explain the workings of. That "Elevator!" He went &"got me ice. Give him a raise!' Then when i went down to the Bar, this outatanding gentlemen could see i was distressed as to how to get there. He held my hand & guided me thru your building. And when I was checking out another kind man helped me. He helped me from my room right out to the car, right in fromt for me. I wished i had all their names.. The kindness they extemded to a handicapped old Grandma will always be apprecited. My only fault I i find with the Inn is ALL the stairs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs a complete overhaul.

Posted Sep 13, 2014
I stayed her a year ago. This time i found carpets worn, poor paint jobs, my room bit as clean as it should be and the overall hotel in need if a complete upgrade. Staff were snippy except for the doorman.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

great location, great charm

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: location and charm
Cons: could be "crisper"; some deferred maintenance, attention to details
Location: lovely restaurants and high end shopping nearby, close to the Lake
room small, small bathroom as well; great location and charming facility; staff was good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near the shopping center of town

Posted Feb 17, 2014
My hotel stay was nice as I was there for a wedding and most of the wedding guests were there also. This hotel is a landmark in Lake Forest and has been there for years. It would have been nicer if they spent some money and upgraded the interior of the hotel as the electrical wiring and plugs in the room are a bit scary. Perhaps they should invest and modernize the bathrooms as they are certainly old. If you're looking for a "no frills" place to stay for a weekend, it was ok. Breakfast was included which was great!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by EWH from Summit, NJ

I have stayed at this hotel for almost 40 years.

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: Location, location, location
The hotel really needs a major upgrade. It is in a great location, in a great town. They upgraded the bar and restaurant a while ago but certainly need to do the same for the rooms and halls.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Franklin from Wisconsin

Have friends that live in Lake Forest

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: You finally got air conditioning!!! The food at the Deerpath is excellent.
Cons: I think the rooms are pricey for the size. The double rooms are similar to European standards. In other words, extremely small.
I have showed horses for years, so even though I live in Wisconsin I have friends that live in Lake Bluff and Lake Forest. The Deerpath is an extremely convienent location when I come to stay. Even though it was a busy weekend (I believe two weddings were taking place) the room was quiet. The staff was excellent and I loved the room service. The food was quite good.