Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wels, OÖ

Sehr schöne Hotelanlage unmittelbar am Strand

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Die Außenanlagen und für eine "Urlaubshotel" sehr gediegenen und großzügigen Innenbereiche
Cons: Modernisierung der Inneneinrichtung in den Zimmern - insbesondere der Kleiderschränke.
Location: Direkt am Strand des Gardasees und direkt an der Strandpromenade. Im Umkreis von 1 - 3 Km viele Orte und Gebäude die einen Besuch wert sind.
Ein sehr schöner Aufenthalt in einer sehr ansprechenden Hotelanlage und äußerst höflichem und zuvorkommenden Hotelpersonal
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Grinstead. W Sussex

Elegant hotel on Lake Garda with fabulous views.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Beautifully kept.. Lovely generous borders of flowers everywhere. Fabulous views. Very friendly staff, great food.
Cons: I can't think of anything to improve it.
Location: We were so happy with the weather and the facilities in the hotel we barely needed to move. But if we had teenage children we would have had to go to
With the delightful drive from the airport in an arranged car with Expedia we arrived at this pleasingly elegant, slightly faded, bourganvillea clad hotel- exactly what we were hoping for. The reception staff were friendly, impeccably dressed, courteous and helpful. Our room looked straight out onto the lake and the terrace outside from which you could jump straight into the water. Gorgeous restaurants, excellent food with very romantic atmospheres. Outside pool bar, masses of choices of good food and cocktails. The candlelit Terrace bar in the evening was great headed by Max and his team of charming and courteous men; again all impeccably dressed. We listened to Simon playing and singing on Sunday night. very high-class entertainment. Ideal for couples but I wouldn't have thought it right for small or growing or teenage children. The first time in my life that I was upset at having to leave a hotel. I will recommend this hotel to all my friends.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

Excellent hotel location 5 yards from lake

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Cannot fault anything, staff could not do enough for us anything we wanted we got. Hotel was perfectly situated on the lake. Room was great. Food was plentiful with excellent choices. Bus stop right outside hotel with easy access to get around. Ferry terminal 10 yards from hotel.All in all a beautiful place to go.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Stunning setting and a taste of the old school

Posted Jul 18, 2016
The grand hotel is a lovely hotel which feels like it was plucked out of the 1950s, retaining all the associated charm and character. The staff are friendly and the décor is dated but pleasant. The setting us immaculate, with a long stretch of private promenade outside the front, well kept with beautiful flowers, overlooking the lake. Gardone itself is a short walk up the hill and Saló is just around the corner.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing location!

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Great views from all over the hotel. Make sure you pay extra for lake views. It's a bit of a throwback to the old days and as such it's not a modern sterile minimalist place. It's got a grand style which we loved. If you want modern don't come here. Rooms are fine though and all very clean. Breakfast is about 3 yards from the lake as you can see!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Couldn't recommend highly enough

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Hotel facilities and location are absolutely spot on, the staff are the friendliest and most helpful that I've ever met...say no more #enoughsaid
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Woodbridge Suffolk

Excellent location

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: It ticked all our boxes, we could not fault
Cons: Nothing
Location: The town was small but still had lots of places to eat. There was a boat pick up point was right outside the hotel.
The hotel was perfect. This is not a modern hotel but it oozes history and charm. Will return again and again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Grande Dame of the Lake

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: More has to be done by the hotel in transporting guests from the train station and like. Here, they drop the ball as Lago di Garda is busy.
Location: Tranquility, elegance right on the lake with incredible views...that alone is enough.
History (Winston Churchill), sumptuous suites each with a lake view, ferry dock next door, staff that dress up like you would expect for a grand hotel, a dress code for the evening meal (so nice not to see half naked tourists in the evening running around the hotel) and incredible views from their lake side bars and restaurants. Truly, this is a 4 star hotel and deservedly so.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Ideal location for relaxing holiday.

Posted May 24, 2016
Pros: Please see above
Cons: Main bar service appeared to be slow on the only occasion we used it.
Location: Please see above.
Attentive staff, excellent accommodation. Some room designations are unclear. We were pleased to be assigned accommodation with terrace and sitting area, but, limited lake view which initially caused some consternation. Upon investigation appeared we had been upgraded, prioritising space over view. Once identified, this was appreciated, especially when we realised we were at the eastern end of the hotel and enjoyed the late evening sun. Restaurant and other facilities were excellent. The hotel's central location on the lake is ideal for local travel and ferry use on 'trips of discovery'. One week at this establishment does not allow one to enjoy the full list of facilities and benefits of such a beautiful hotel in an ideal location. We shall definitely return as soon as practical.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from München

Sehr zuvorkommendes Personal.

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: Die Freundlichkeit
Cons: Das Restaurant
Location: In Gardone Riviera. Wassersport/Bootstouren.
Old School - aber schön, wenn man es mag. Sehr freundliche Mitarbeiter.