Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Maxine from Perth

Lake Garda

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Weekend trip at Lake Garda. I was glad I had read the reviews so I was prepared for no soap or shampoo. I wasn't prepared for a request to sort and bin my rubbish I asked for a kettle which was provided quickly along with some peppermint tea. I was sble to leave my bag at the hotel after check out.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel got a pretty nice view

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing hotel view! wonderful location including parking at reasonable price. Ask for high available floor. Very kind reception staff!!! The only issue was hard mattress on the bed and no soap & shampoo was provided
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Hotel Ariston is the perfect place to stay.

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Pros: The staff were very friendly. The girl at reception was lovely, I never found out her name but she seemed to work all hours and always had a smile.
Cons: Just about the only thing we reckon can be improved at Hotel Ariston would be to have wifi available in all the rooms.
Location: The hotel is close to the Mont Baldo cablecar station, handy as you can beat the crowds by going up early in the morning.
We spent an incredible week in Malcesine and the Hotel Ariston was the perfect base for exploring everything Lake Garda has to offer. We stayed in room 25 at the far left hand side of the the top (third) floor. Great room with a breathtaking view of the castle and the lake. When we made the booking I was uncertain whether we should splash out a little extra to stay on the top floor and go for one of the rooms with a view of the lake but with hindsight it was the best decision we made. Room 25 was very modern and spacious and has a superb balcony but it was the views that really made it for us. Some of the other rooms have a view of the mountain which is nice but if you can, go for a room with a lake view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from S Wales

Nice hotel, well situated for town and lake

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: The impression we got was that they were proud of their hotel, glad to have us staying and wanted us to enjoy our visit.
Cons: A small pool would be ideal but would severely limit the garden space available.
Location: Numerous lovely lakeside towns to visit by bus or boat as well as Verona, Venice and Dolomites further afield. Large number of great restaurants.
Lovely small family run hotel which was full but not crowded. Staff all very friendly from reception to maids to breakfast. Waiter even remembered each tables different requests. Lovely breakfast either inside or outside overlooking the picturesque gardens. Comfortable room with everything expected and balcony with mountain views. Thoroughly enjoyed our experience and would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely hotel. We had an executive room which was very big and had a large balcony with a beautiful view over the lake. Staff were all very friendly. Great location and takes minutes to walk to the lake side. Breakfast was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

A Hotel for All Seasons

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: It was extremely comfortable and relaxing. The location is excellent. The staff are only too pleased to help with any requests.
Cons: For me, nothing. My husband would have liked Wifi facilities in the bedrooms. There is Wifi in the lounge area.
Location: Stunning location. A short walk from Lake Garda & the cable car. Boat trips and organised tours to wineries, Venice, Verona etc. are easily available
This is a small friendly family run hotel. The staff are very helpful and obliging. It is situated a few minutes walk from the centre of town but away from the hustle and bustle of Malcesine. Standards of cleanliness are excellent, with an attention to detail. The hotel provides a buffet style breakfast with a wide choice. Breakfast was served on the terrace overlooking the gardens. Alternatively one could dine inside. Drinks are available throughout the day. The beds are comfortable and the room size is adequate with plenty of storage space. There are views of the lake or mountains, depending on which side of the hotel the room is. All rooms are air conditioned and have balconies. Roller shutters keep out the light and mid-day heat. The tranquil gardens are well kept and provide a relaxing haven after a day's sight seeing. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from london

You pay for the view!

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: The view and the location
Cons: Rooms felt dated - bed linen, decor. Breakfast - better quality of food. Better service from waiter.
Location: Close to centre of Malcesine - ideal location.
We stayed during week of 4 May 2015. I expected a higher grade hotel paying £100 per night - the hotel is basic but what you are paying for is the stunning view from the bedrooms and the location, which was worth it for our 2 night stay in Macesine. Greeting on arrival was great. Room was basic and felt dated but i am led to believe that this is common for hotels in Lake Garda and part of it's charm.We slept well - beds were comfortable and it was quiet. It was very clean but soap/shower gel/ hand wash in the bathroom would have been a nice touch. The view from our balcony was stunning over looking the castle and lake. Slight incline up to hotel may not be suitable for people with walking difficulties. Breakfast was disappointing. The service was also disappointing. There was only one person serving hot drinks, and the tea i received was luke warm. The selection of food was basic (continental breakfast offered only). This was fine for us but I expected better quality of food in a hotel that was £100 per night. I would recommend to someone visiting Lake Garda for a short stay (2-3 nights only). Longer term stays, i feel you would want better facilities and food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Denver

Great hotel in Malcesine, close to MonteBaldo lift

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: The garden grounds were remarkable. A great retreat at the end of the day. The grounds and all the hotel were immaculately kept.
Cons: Wifi signal in our room on 3rd floor was very weak, so we had to do our internet stuff in lobby, which suited us fine. We caught up while at breakfast
Location: The lift to top of MonteBaldo is 90 seconds walk away, same for bike rental. Restaurants in town are 5 minutes walk.Try Ristoro just a few steps away.
We loved Hotel Ariston. Decor is modern and very comfortable. The bed was very comfortable. We were in room 23 on top (3rd) floor with view of the lake, which I recommend. Our room looked directly out onto the tower and the view was fantastic. Breakfast was good, especially outside on the patio or in the relaxing garden. The staff was incredibly warm and welcoming and helped us every day. Renatta at the desk answered all of our questions, and went out of her way to help us. We wanted to golf one day, very impromptu, and she called the place to ensure that we could get on. The course didn't answer, so she called back. Again, and again, and again until she got them and heard that they had a spot for us. It was a delight speaking with her and all the staff there. I needed an iron one morning and asked a maid that was in hallway. She didn't speak English and my Italian is not very good either. We laughed at each other pointing and gesturing and finally figured it out. She walked me down to the basement and showed me what I needed. The Italian people in general are warm and friendly. The staff at Hotel Ariston are great representatives of this. We felt welcome there from minute one. The only suggestion I'd make is to improve the wifi signal on the upper floors. We found that we needed to do internet in the lobby, which was fine by us. We took care of this in the morning at breakfast before heading out for the day.
4 out of 5
by Wela from North

Beautiful place

Posted Jul 28, 2014 on Hotels
Very close to the cabincar!
5 out of 5
by 60's couple from Cardiff UK

Excellent Hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel is ideally situated for all the amenities Malcasine has to offer. It is situated between Lake Garda and the cable car to the top of Mount Baldo,. Everywhere is easily walkable from the hotel, only taking minutes, to reach shops, restaurants the marina the castle and cable car, but the cobbled streets need flat walking shoes. The hotel is clean, comfortable and airy and has lovely views of the castle from the front balconies and views of the mountains from the rear. The staff are friendly and helpful, they arranged for a shuttle to take us to the airport for our early return flight home for only £25pp in a spacious shared car and also with our flight arrangements. The journey takes approx. 1 hour to Verona airport.by taxi.The hotel also offers guided local walks. The breakfast buffet is good and can be eaten outside on the terrace. The garden is lovely. It has plenty of seating and is filled with trees, flowers and birdsong. A little oasis in the busy town. Do not hesitate to book this hotel, we were very happy with our choice and we highly recommend it.