Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Stylish & Beautiful

Posted Jul 18, 2016
My wife and I spent two nights at Bella Riva and were impressed. The hotel is in an attractive, tranquil location on the lake, with views of the mountains and towns in the distance. The design is chic with images from Paul Klee at the entrance, 19th century classic furniture in the bar, a good sense of space throughout, and a wide selection of books on art and architecture that we enjoyed skimming through over breakfast. Quality is high throughout so it's an easy choice for either families or couples looking for a something special. As with many hotels, drinks and extras were overpriced, even by our own Central-London standards, but that's an easy opt-out. Overall, highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful loft room

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Bed, bathroom, breakfast, location
Cons: Loft room has limited view of water
Location: 30 minute walk to town
Rooms are very comfortable. Beds are huge. Breakfast was exceptional quality. Wifi worked well. Pool was great.
5 out of 5
by carole

Lakeside Gem

Posted May 6, 2016 on Hotels
One of the best hotels we have stayed in having been travelling regularly for over forty years. Could not fault the building, grounds or outside space for comfort and condition. The hotel restaurant was excellent whether for breakfast, lunch or dinner, in fact probably the best food we enjoyed for the whole trip. All of the staff without exception were very helpful, friendly and went out of their way to ensure all requests were fully responded to.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

EXCELLENT-highly recommended, a bit out of the way

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: High quality in every respect. Location, grounds, food, staff. FYI in the picture from our balcony, the main hotel would be to the right.
Cons: Dinner was as I'd expect for this class hotel, very fancy, delicious, but not large portions. Could be an issue for big eaters.
Location: We didn't have a car, so we walked into Maderno, and taxi'd to Salo. Both are beautiful. IMHO not quite Lake Como levels though my wife disagrees.
Travelled with our almost two year old son. We had booked into the Apartment/Annex/Villa Mughetto and could't quite tell what we were in for. I can't comment on the the regular rooms, but at the time we booked they were double the price of the apartment. Had a large bathroom (no tub for but large walkin shower), small kitchenette with fridge and small stove and sink. Lots of space for our son to run around and on the grounds there were some grassy areas, and a nice walkway with ducks and small pebbled beach to throw rocks in the lake. Breakfast included was great, high quality, eggs per order, breads, yogurt, pastries, fruits. The only negative would be that if you wanted to be in town, then this is not for you. It was a couple kilometer (very beautiful) walk into the nearest town Maderno, and a short taxi to Salo. There was a small store nearby (5min walk) for milk and some small supplies. We were looking for some quiet/relaxation and so it suited us perfectly. Staff were very accommodating and friendly to our son. FYI cab from Desenzano train station was ~50euro. Cab to/from Salo was 13-15 euro. Private driver back to Venice airport was pricey at 300euro but we needed to do it for our schedule.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
Not 5 star but a nice restaurant Value for money very low
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Ronald from Houston, Texas

Fantastic.

Posted Sep 11, 2015 on Hotels
This is our second time staying here. Beautiful hotel on one of the most beautiful spots on Lake Garda. Very classy hotel. Great service. The food is wonderful. We ate every dinner there. You eat right off the lakefront in a beautiful garden. Staying here is a real treat. One of my favorite places to stay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, England

Possibly the best hotel I have stayed in.

Posted Sep 3, 2015
The Bella Riva sits right on the shore of Lake Garda, giving you a direct connection with this magnificent body of water. The hotel looks traditional from the outside but is thoroughly modern on the inside and everything is of the highest quality. The staff are welcoming and friendly and while they are knowledgeable and efficient there is a relaxed feeling about the place. The restaurant wasn't just good, we both thought the food was amazing even though we eat out a lot. Downsides? Our room wasn't quite a big as we would have liked but this really is a small complaint (excuse the pun).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beautiful lake side setting.

Posted Aug 23, 2015
A winderful stay-the setting was stunning.We stayed in the villa with 2 small children which was very comfortable.The staff and service were all outstanding .We had dinner in the restaurant a few times-amazing food.Can't fault anything and will definitely go back
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Italy trip

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Hotel receptionist wasn't helpful at all, didn't tell us about hotel or things to do around and wasn't happy we even asked. Wifi wasn't working, our bathroom ceiling was leaking. Other then that it's a nice private and quiet place.