Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gary from Essex

Great as a base, but very little else

Posted May 22, 2013
This isn't a bad hotel by any stretch- the view is fantastic, as is the distance to local restaurants and the ferry around the lake. The included breakfast is relatively varied and is of extremely high standard. Here comes the downside, however. The staff on the front desk were about as helpful as a chocolate teapot. When we enquired about using the Internet point in order to check in for our flight, we were replied with a very curt "It's broken." When we enquired about not having a key for the in-room safe (which was extremely small- you couldn't fit a laptop or large tablet inside) we were told rather abruptly "That's because you didn't ask me for it." Thankfully, the restaurant staff were the polar opposite- they couldn't help you enough. The room itself also left a lot to be desired. There wasn't a huge amount of room space, and our double bed was two single beds pushed together, one of which was extremely saggy and unsupportive. The walls were extremely thin, and we could regularly hear people leaving the hotel in the morning. This is more than likely due to the age of the building, but some kind of soundproofing wouldn't go amiss. Overall this is a good hotel if you just need somewhere to rest your head, but don't go if you like your service to be dealt with a smile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lauren from Melbourne VIC, Australia

Great time in salo

Posted Oct 26, 2012
Pros: View of lake and close to the best gelato shop in Italy
Location: Great position close to every thing
We were made very welcome Fantastic breakfast Really enjoyed our stay , convenient to shops restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by PACMAC from Scotland, UK

GREAT HOLIDAY

Posted Oct 7, 2012
Pros: THE STAFF
Cons: FOOD PRICES
Location: FANTASTIC!
SMALL FRIENDLY HOTEL ON THE LAKE! AFTER A VERY LONG DAY TRAVELLING WE ARRIVED ALMOST AT MIDNIGHT BUT THE RECEPTIONIST GREETED US WITH A WARM WELCOME, THE ROOM WAS SPOTLESS AND COMFORTABLE, WE HAD A GOOD BREAKFAST EVERY MORNING AGAIN WITH VERY FRIENDLY STAFF, WE DID EAT AT THE HOTEL ONCE IN THE EVENING IT WAS GOOD BUT THE DEAREST OUT OF ALL THE RESTAURANTS WE ATE AT AND MAYBE THAT IS WHY THERE WAS VERY FEW OR NOBODY EATING THERE EVERY EVENING? THAT SAID I WOULD NOT HESITATE TO BOOK THIS HOTEL AGAIN.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nic from Manchester

Nice room, good service

Posted Oct 5, 2012
Pros: Good service
Cons: Could have done with better directions to the hotel parking before we arrived
Location: Beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting
It was superb from start to finish. The staff couldn't do enough for us. The room was lovely and the view was stunning. I wouldn't hesitate to use this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Graham & Lynne from Birmingham, West Midlands, UK

Great Lakeside Hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2012
The hotel is in a lovely position, right on the lakeside, with amazing views of the lake. We were in a first floor lakeside room that opened onto a terrace with sunbeds, but even if the room didn't have a lakeside view, you could have the benefit of the view from the restaurant, while having a leisurely breakfast. The staff spoke good English and were happy to provide an 'English' breakfast if requested - although there was a good selection of 'continental' food available. The jetty for boat trips to other resorts along the lakeside was only metres from the hotel, which was an ideal way to explore. It was possible to drop off luggage outside the hotel, then it was a ten minute walk to free secure parking. There was free wifi for up to twelve hours usage. Overall a very pleasant stay. We chose the hotel on the basis of reviews on Expedia and we weren't disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Swansea, UK

Excellent hotel for a couple.

Posted Aug 2, 2012
Pros: The room was superb.
Cons: As was the case with most of the Italian retaurants on the lake side the menu was very restricted, but what there was appeared to be good.
This hotel was perfectly placed, on the lake side, adjacent to the boat landing stage, and with very restricted traffic passage across its front. All the rooms appear to have lake frontage. We were fortunate to have had patio doors opening onto a terrace. The bathroom was so clean it beggars belief.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gill from Luton

Great for a relaxing holiday.

Posted Jul 27, 2012
Pros: Views from the room
Cons: No pool
Location: Stunning
Situated on the shore of Lake Garda in Salo, the views from our room overlooking the lake were stunning. Well worth paying extra for a lake view. Hotel was spotless and staff very helpful. A pool would have warranted a 5 star rating. Breakfast was excellent with the option of a cooked breakast at no extra charge, although dinner in the restaurant was very expensive compared to others in the resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Hilary from London

Great location, but could do with redecoration

Posted Jul 17, 2012
Pros: location, view and friendly staff
Cons: decor
Location: Salo is a pleasant & upmarket town with a long promenade. We enjoyed: tango night; live music on Thursday; alpine choir (with hats! but v good).
We were very happy with the location of the hotel. The hotel is near the centre, but not right in the centre, so is easy to walk to anywhere, but not noisy. We had lakeside rooms on the 2nd floor - with a good view - but a little on the small side. Good bathroom with shower and WC, and air con worked fine. Hotel does need redecoration and is a little shabby in places. Staff were helpful and friendly, but could have been more knowledgeable about local tourist information. Breakfasts are fine and typical continental type - always fresh fruit, cakes, toast, cheese/ham etc. I never worked out the egg boiler... Sun deck on outside front on first floor - OK, with spa pool. However, was a little disappointed because it does say on Expedia that there is a swimming pool on site - and there isn't. Expedia also mentions a bathrobe, complimentary water and a complimentary newspaper - i didn't see any of these. Do visit - Isolda del Garda, the botanic gardens in Gardone and the market in Bardolino. Don't bother with Malcesine and cable car up Monte Baldo - it was very crowded. we bought a ticket for the castle and the cable car - castle was good, but the queue for the cable car was so long, there was no way we could use the ticket and get the boat back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel with good location

Posted Jul 3, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: parking
Location: opposite the lake and near bars and restaurants
Good location, nice welcome and lovely breakfast. We only stayed one night but would have been happy to stay longer. Only downside the car park is about a ten minute walk away!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by S & J Tours

Salo the jewel of Lake Garda

Posted May 16, 2012
Pros: superb location, friendly and relaxed atmosphere.
Cons: none
Location: superb location
We had a very enjoyable stay. The staff were relaxed, friendly and helpful. The quickest check in in the history of check ins - 1 minute - great ! This is a small, comfortable hotel with a good local feel to it in a superb location. In our view Salo was the best location we saw on Lake Garda and the hotel is only a few metres away from the lake edge and the ferry stop. The views over the lake are superb this in our view elevates this hotel above other perhaps more expensive hotels. Salo is quieter than other resorts but has a style and class of its own.