Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with beautiful views of the lake.

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: The beautiful view of the lake while eating outside.
Cons: Cleaner shower as had a little black mould between tiles.
Location: Hotel right in the centre of Malcesine, near lots of restaurants and shops down beautiful cobbled streets. The cable car up to Monte Baldo.
Great location right in the heart of Malcesine. Lovely food! Bedrooms clean but basic. Wifi only available in the lobby area and out on the veranda and have to pay per day, per device.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Good maybe baic hotel but central for everything

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: The fact that we could get anywhere we wanted to go from there.
Cons: Maybe a fridge as the weather was so hot , if we wanted to take anything fresh in it couldn't be kept fresh. Wifi very poor and had to be paid for. Ce
Location: Good location. Easy to get transport for trips out. Plenty of shops and a good market. Concerts held nearby and plenty of places to eat
The hotel was as I say basic but good. Could have dne with a fridge and wifi available in the room. Receptionist was good but not always very talkative. the relief receptionist on tuesday afternoon verged on being rude and unhelpful. As a place to base ourselves it was fine and we would go back there.
5 out of 5
by Morag from Derby

Wonderful holiday

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is a fairly old fashioned typical Italian hotel. We requested a lakeside room and received a room with a private terrace, fantastic!!!!!!!!!! The receptionist was bilingual and very helpful. The service and food was lovely and very reasonably priced. If you want posh modern avoid but if like us traditional Italian the go for it I would go back again awesome well done!!!!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Average Hotel in Excellent Location

Posted Jul 7, 2016
The hotel us ideally located right on the shores of Lake Garda in Malcesine a lovely traditional quaint Town. But in June the temps reached 37degrees and with no air conditioning in the rooms sleeping was impossible. Clean hotel, traditional furnishings, reasonably priced all you need!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible, hotels.com are a disgrace

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
Terrible, terrible, terrible. Booked 8 months before departure. Was emailed day before departure to be told that the hotel water pump failed and they could not accommodate us. Was on the phone uh until 1am. Eventually put in an apartment for 4 days then hotel room for 3 days. We went to hotel malceskne and spoke with people at the hotel to be told they have not had any problems with the water and in fact they had simply overbooked. I suspect that when this happens the hotel will always honour the more profitable booking.....so watch out if you book early to save money. We have contacted hotels.com customer service twice and are still awaiting a response three weeks later. Will never use them again. Totally stressful. Hotels.com you are a disgrace!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from surrey

Don't bother!

Posted Aug 31, 2015
After booking 4 months in advance 2 days before we were due to travel our booking was cancelled due to over booking. Cue lots of stress to try and find a new hotel so we could attend a friends wedding. Stay away! They also did the same to another couple in the same wedding party.
5 out of 5
by Julian from Essex

Excellent hotel and helpful staff

Posted Aug 30, 2015 on Hotels
We did have a problem with the booking, not the fault of Hotel Malcesine, and the hotel staff were very helpful in resolving this. For our second night we had a room with a Balcony overlooking the lake. It is a super hotel and a great place to experience Malcesine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Hotel on lakeside easy access to old town and new.

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Pros: Clean and friendly
Cons: Shutters on windows or aircon as rooms stifling hot at night. Electric sockets in rooms needed updating.
Location: On lakeside near harbour,excellent for all generations of family.
Enjoyed the accessibility of both old and new town and easy access to transport links
1 out of 5
by Paul from Caterham, Surrey

In urgent need of updating

Posted Aug 8, 2015 on Hotels
Very 70's rooms which are tiny No air con, no mini fridge, no tea/coffee or kettle Very hard beds in fact nothing in the way of comfort at all and when it's hot the rooms become unbearably hot and stuffy to the point where you can't sleep If I rented a basic bedsit it would have more creature comforts than this place It urgently needs to be brought into the 21st century , I don't go on holiday and spend lots of money to slum it! On the plus side it has a perfect location and the lakeside restaurant is pretty good with nice friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire, England

Great trip to Lake Garda

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Good all round tourist hotel. Right next to pretty boat harbour, restaurants all around you, located in the most stunning town of Malcensine - would recommend but don't expect 5* but great mid range hotel. Will go back.