Ratings based on 291 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
The maitre d' can be very rude. We were polite and asked him something. His response was unacceptable and unprofessional. He needs to listen. He needs to understand the needs of others, even though he may not agree. He needs sensitivity training. We are returning to Gardo Lake and cannot stay at your place, since his attitude is unacceptable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Great resort and position

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Cons: Dinner menus were not inspiring, so we ate out.
good air conditioning. beautiful promenade and many good restaurants close at hand. Fine view of lake.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel near lake quiet and relaxing

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Had lake view room with big balcony, patio table and two chairs provided but no parasol which was needed as sun prevented you being able to sit out.I asked for parasol but was told I couldn't have one, I offered to rent one but still refused,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from suffolk england

beautifully located hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Pretty much everything
Cons: First step into the pool is VERY deep! Needs to be not so deep to allow easier access for people with mobility issues
Location: Good local resturaunts if you wanted to eat out. Lovely setting with boutique shops and the ferry was nearby. Pharmacy and Doctor all very close too
Ideally situated hotel for ALL amenities along the local promenade with superb views of the lake. Quiet and restful. Lovely food and very helpful and friendly staff. Would definitely go again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A super break in Gardone Riviera

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Right on the lake front the Hotel Savoy Palace with sea view room on 4th floor was super. Location was perfect to enjoy the lake by ferry, road or on foot. Trips further afield to Milan and Venice also bookable via reception plus a fab night in Verona at the opera. The hotel staff, particularly catering and waiting staff were superb, very attentive, always friendly and made dining very pleasant indeed outdoors by the pool and indoors - it was a relaxed and thoroughly enjoyable. The food choice and standard/quality at breakfast, lunch and dinner was exceptional and flexible to accommodate allergies eg shellfish with alternative options. Staff were great with children too and occasional evening live musical entertainment - piano, guitar, singers was very good. All round a great hotel, excellent location (one of the nicer lake resorts) - can't fault it! Our 19yr old son thoroughly enjoyed everything and the swimming pool is fabulous with plenty of sun ess. Love to return one day. Well done Hotel Savoy Palace (and for the lovely arrival and departure gifts - a nice touch). Wish I was still there! In my opinion 10/10!
2 out of 5
by Michael from Maryland

Very poor restaurant and service

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
We had a bad experience in the restaurant. We ordered wine. When the head waiter brought it, he asked us to taste it for approval. We did so, and discovered the wine had spoiled and was undrinkable. We requested him to take it back. He proceeded to taste the wine himself in front of us, and rudely said it was acceptable and perhaps we were not used to that kind of wine! He charged for the bottle which we did not drink, and refused to take the charge off the bill. The management agreed to remove the charge, but did not offer an apology for our upsetting experience and defended the waiter. In addition, the food in the restaurant was very poor. If you stay in this rather ordinary hotel (for the price) don't bother with the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent customer service and beautiful surrounds

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: staff very helpful and professional
Location: near to the lake and the ferry boats
great hotel and location will return to this hotel
5 out of 5
by irena from slovenia

wonderful

Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was very clean, the staff are friendly and helpful. Since the end of the season, it was very quiet. We enjoyed in the Spa alone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Middlesbrough

Lovely hotel.

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Pros: See above.
Location: A visit to the nearby island is a must.
We have stayed at this hotel twice, and have very much enjoyed our stay both times. The roadside façade is completely at odds with the rest of the hotel, the public areas are well furnished, most of the rooms at the rear of the hotel have splendid lake views and the overall ambience is one of relaxed comfort. The staff are without exception friendly and helpful, most of whom seek fluent English. Buffet style breakfast with an excellent choice. One restaurant not to be missed during any stay in Gardone is Sans Souci, the default choice for the locals pretty much says everything.
3 out of 5
by Yvonne from cairns

Lakeside

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
clean large rooms on the edge of the lake