Ratings based on 288 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Superb location

Posted May 9, 2017
Hotel Villa Maria au Lac is superbly located right on the western shore of Lake Garda about 3/4 mile south of the small town of Toscolano Maderno, which has plenty of good cafes, bars and restaurants and is easily reached by a scenic lakeside walk. At the time of our visit (Easter holidays) there were only 3 or 4 rooms in occupation and the restaurant was closed except for breakfast. On arrival we were politely informed that limited facilities were available as the season doesn't start until mid-late April. Our room was fairly basic, with a nice ensuite, clean and had amazing views over the lake just 20 metres away. Breakfast was a good buffet and well set out. The few staff on site were pleasant and helpful. The peace and quiet was relaxing, but being so empty at that time of year inevitably meant the hotel was lacking in ambiance - it would surely be very different in a busier season.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Twickenham , London

Close to Perfection

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: The hotel is situated on the side of Lake Garda and has a lovely outlook. We loved the breakfasts and the restaurant and the small private beach.
Cons: The welcome on our arrival could have been warmer. And we would have appreciated information on the local area and a map of the town.
Location: It is a pleasant 15 minute walk to Moderno which has very few shops and several downmarket restaurants. The ferry service is its main asset.
My wife and I stayed there for ten days in late September . Virtually everything about the hotel was of a very high standard but the town of Moderno was disappointing . However, we used the ferry service every day to visit other locations on Lake Garda and the weather was superb .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Stamford, England

Comfortable hotel next to the lake with lovely gar

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: The location. The staff. The food.
Cons: Not always easy driving out onto the road as you had to stick your nose out a little to see!
Location: We definitely preferred the west side of the lake. The hotel is situated on the edge of town but it was a pleasant walk into Maderno.
Romm was comfortable. We were upgraded to a room at the top of the villa which had stunning views with windows on all 4 sides. It did make it a bit warm with all that glass but the air conditioning worked well! The staff were friendly and helpful. Good choice at breakfast and eating out on the terrace was very pleasant. We had dinner a couple of times and they had a set menu with 3 courses with 2 or 3 choices for 25 euros which we felt was good value.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sweden

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely fantastic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, England

This is a very nice hotel with private beach

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Location was good, staff were friendly, clean, views of the lake amazing, being lake side was a plus. lovely ground. Plenty of parking.
Cons: More fresh fruit at breakfast, staff to be quieter in the evening when clearing up after evening dinner.
Location: We did all the usual visits as per our guide book. We liked the location as it was out of town (not that Maderno was noisy).
We visited early September 16 and were welcomed on arrival and the hotel facilities were explained to us and then shown to our room. The hotel sunbeds were for all the clients to use however there was still the usual 'towel throwing in the early hours' and no one coming to use the bed until the afternoon which wherever you go is irritating. Our room was separate from the main hotel and the despite being very comfortable and very clean and with a view over the lake they were not sound proof and every night we were woken up by the kitchen staff clattering bins and bottles and the occupants next door snoring. On the other hand the air conditioning was great and very quite. The hotel is a 20 minute walk from the main town of Maderno and 35 minute walk from Gargano. I was a bit concerned we had chosen the wrong spot on the lake because it seemed isolated but as we travelled around the lake visiting different towns we realised we had the perfect spot, slightly out of town but close enough to walk in. We hired a car (despite reviews not to) the traffic was fine a few hold ups but nothing like the UK. Parking is an issue and expensive roughly 2 euros an hour. If you want to visit somewhere either get there early ie before 10:00 or after 15:00hrs. This is still cheaper than travelling by ferry, we travelled by ferry (fast ferry) to Sirmonie from Maderno and it cost 27 euros one way! That said the best views of the towns is to be had from the ferry especially Limonie which is beautiful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel, wonderful view of lake

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: The location and setting of the hotel is perfect. Breakfast on the sunny terrace overlooking the lake was pretty magical. The views are stunning.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The pretty town of Moderno is 10 mins lakeside walk away. It's charming and quietish but busy enough to offer a good variety of places for a meal.
We loved our first trip to the Italian lakes and the hotel was absolutelyperfect. The setting is wonderful, overlooking Lake Garda with a small private beach and generous gardens. It's a glamorous hotel, beautifully maintained.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from East Yorkshire

Good lakeside location

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Location and food.
Cons: The entrance!! Driving a car out, little visibility either way was harrowing even though there are mirrors it's not easy to judge distance/speed.
The Hotel faces the town on the other side of a bay. Approx 15 minutes walk into Moderna. There is a small private pebble beach on the edge of the lake right outside the Hotel. Very pleasant shady gardens, good food and relaxed ambience. There is a good ferry or boat hire service in Moderna, much better than trying to use the very busy roads to get around the lake.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Excellent!

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Clean hotel, friendly staff, nice and quiet and brilliant breakfast.
Cons: The evening meals are a little pricey compared to downtown and you have to order things separately like fries and salad.
Location: Great location - 1.5 hours from Verona airport which isn't a stressful journey. Right on the lake which is stunning. Go to Marderon for more stuff!
We had a really lovely stay at this hotel. We never review anything but we felt we had to. There is ample parking for call guests including underground parking if need be. The reception staff are really really helpful and have full knowledge of the area and suggest things to do. There is a ferry in the town of Maderno which we didn't use but it's handy to have it so near. The walk into Maderno is 15 mins away and it's a lovely little town with plenty of great restaurants and little shops. The hotel offered a fantastic breakfast with everything you would want - pastries, eggs and bacon, fruits and cereals. The view of the lake from the terrace are fantastic. The little private beach is seconds away from the hotel and it is so pretty there. The rooms are a great size with plenty of storage, they are clean and have a great shower and bathroom facilities - including a hairdryer! Overall we can't wait to come and stay at this hotel again. 1.5 hours away from Verona airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sussex

Very nice hotel staff friendly and helpful

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: It was very quiet, small family run hotel
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Short walk to town, cafes and restaurants also ferry port
Had a great weekend took the ferry to see the whole lake
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lake view room

Posted May 31, 2016
The hotel was truly magical with a lake side view room. The restaurant food was amazing and the wine very good. We opted for the set menu and was very surprised at the value for money. The hotel is about 70mins from Verona airport and costs €110 euros each way a little small print they don't tell you. However once there you won't want to leave.