Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Three day stay

Posted Aug 15, 2015 on Hotels
Room was good for sleeping, very hot without air conditioning. My roommate who stayed with me noticed that our room (307) had older furniture than other rooms had, but I suppose that we wouldn't get the same cheap price for those. The toilet and shower room were tiny, but cute. Very tiny. Tiny. There was a small convenience store around the corner, coop wasn't too far and every location could pretty much be reached by foot. Metro was very close as well, hard to get lost getting to it from the hotel. Overall, it was a decent place to sleep at night after exploring the city.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No air conditioning with 85F nights.

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Pros: Proximity to the Metro line
Cons: Add ceiling or room fans.
Location: Lausanne Cathedral.
One of the hottest days of the year with no AC. One of the two windows was bolted shut and would not open. The neighborhood was a bit noisy. Not much sleep during our stay. Still need to rectify whether we paid for two nights or overpaid for 3. Our cc was charged in the U.S. For one nights stay 3 days before our arrival. The hotel staff claimed that was a hold and they did not receive credit. Our CC company seems to say otherwise. Could not get Expedia's website to respond to our inquiry. will need to investigate further when we return home.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: location
Location: cool
the location is cool, when i was there street performers and live music at night was on offer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

its okay

Posted Mar 27, 2015 on Hotels
small Hotel, in middle of city but quiet. no AC. small tiny room, shower and toilet. but sufficient for a good rest.
2 out of 5
by Oleksandr from Netherlands

Staying at Hotel du Marche

Posted Jan 20, 2015 on Hotels
In general, our staying at the hotel can be valued positively. For a two-star hotel, I mean. Good location, very close to the metro station. Free travel cards for all public transport in Lausanne during our stay. The room was cleaned every day. We had coffee, tea, sugar and electric water boiler, so we could enjoy hot tea and coffee in our room.The only thing which we thought was not good is the mold in the corner of our room. Unfortunately we have noticed it too late to ask for changing for another room. We informed the staff at the reception though to avoid it for future guests - so,please, check your room when you check in. The mold is really bad for human health!!! All in all we would recommend this hotel as a really "small budget" place which really saves money in such an expensive country as Switzerland.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: a lot
Location: Close to shopping center
We didnt have any good experience there. Hotel staff very rude, and not helpful at all.
2 out of 5
by NIcole from Michigan

Not a great experience

Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels
This establishment knew I was traveling with my 80-year-old mother, yet our room was NOT ready at check-in time. We had to wait another hour for our room. On the second day of our stay, our towels were removed from the room but not replaced. I would not recommend this establishment to others.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by sarah from Israel

great service

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels
very nice people.
3 out of 5
by Dave from Chester, CT

Budget hotel for a budget stay

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels
You don't expect much for the price charged at Hotel du Marche. And you get what you expect, more or less. The rooms are tiny, the beds are not real comfortable, and the walls are thin. On our first two nights we slept well, but on the third night a couple was "making noise" from 11 until 1 or 2 am, and we heard every detail. Not so pleasant, but solved with earplugs. The shared bathroom and shower at the end of the hall were tiny, but clean. But for the price, you only expect a clean, safe hotel room, and this hotel delivers.