Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Big family two bedroom.

Posted Dec 30, 2016
The room we were in is very good for families. Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Aging hotel with plenty going for it.

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: The location. Main street yards to the right. Train yards to the front. A stunning looking town/area. Many local tours etc.
Cons: Ok - it needs revamping but that will put up the room rate.
Location: Trains station. Tours, shops, action activities, walks, funiculars, ferries - loads of things. Stunning location.
The hotel is directly across the road from the WEST train station (The two has 2 stations) Its an old hotel in need of modernising but this is reflected in the price so please don't overlook it because Its clean and spacious and the view of the Alps from my room was excellent. The main street is right outside your door and runs right to the town second train station where many tours depart from (You can walk to it in about 15/20 minutes) So if you are not to interested/worried about being in ultra modern stylish hotels this place is very competitively priced. The bed is excellent and the wifi full strength. Cannot comment on the breakfast as I had to leave early. I would stay again, the town is stunning, the transport links excellent and the main street has shop/restaurant to suit nearly any taste/requirement. Take the tour to the 'top of the world' (From east station) The train ride there and the train ride up the Eiger/Jungfraujoch etc is breath taking - completely beautiful. The Reichbach Falls (Where Sherlock Holmes fell to his death) is also in a nearby town of Meiringen
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: The old fashioned feel (especially the lift) with the convenience of modern amenities (eg wifi)
Generally helpful staff and as I was attending an event at the casino, perfectly located.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Old style rooms in central location

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Booked for one night in a double room. It was a functional, albeit old and badly arranged room, that had a view of the bay and a nice balcony. Would stay again based on budget and location (centre of city) alone, but probably aim for something nicer. They are being renovated, so maybe better in the future...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BKK

Nice antique hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: Very antique atmosphere
Cons: The carpet is foul with damp smell
The staff were very nice and helpful. Hotel is near casino and can walk to Chillon castle, But nothing more
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint character filled hotel

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Cons: Hotel is in the process of being renovated, and will only add to its charm. Hopefully they will still cater for families as it was positive experience
Location: inspiring location. bus stops outside door of hotel. lots to see.
Very helpful staff, created a pleasant stay. Filled with old world charm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Thatcham,UK

Comfort and convenience

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: We liked its elegant old-world feel. While it is modern in its facilities where possible period features have been left intact.
Cons: A chest of drawers in the bedroom.
Location: See above
Our stay was to visit family and give support following the birth of our grandson. Location was our first priority and this hotel suited us well when we looked at the map. Being there, however, we discovered that it was ideally situated for visits to the beautiful lakeside and the town. Our room was large - a Junior Suite - and quiet, even though it looked out over the main road. It was short on furniture as there were no drawers in which to put our clothes. Staff were always friendly and helpful, coping with our complete inability to speak their language. If there was one very small criticism it was that the coffee sachets were not resupplied!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Old fashioned Hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: It is always warm and the beds are comfortable. Nice welcome from staff
Cons: The bathrooms need upgrading and the Breakfast is disappointing.
Location: Very centrally located to all Montreux has to offer.
The Hotel is pleasant, well situated but old fashioned. The baths are very small and the bathrooms definitely need updating. The staff are all very efficient and friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marlow

Full of Character!

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Charm and character
Cons: Bathroom facilities and cleaning
Location: Great location
The Hotel Helvetie, is a lovely old building full of character and charm. However the facilities could do with some updating, and the the cleanliness could have been better. That said I would stay there again, and I found the staff to be very helpful and polite. It is ideally located with regards to the action in Montreux.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ballarat, Australia

Great views from King rooms

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: location was very good also, bus stop almost right at the door
Location: Chateau de chillon
Very comfortable large bed, tastefully decorated, nice partial view of the lake