Ratings based on 481 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle, Australia

Nice old girl, more likes boarding house

Posted May 8, 2017
We stayed here for 3 nts after I had accidentally completed a booking. I had been worried about it as reviews weren't so good- however I was pleasantly surprised. Not 5 star, but more like a few nights at grannies. Very clean & comfortable, dated but clean bathroom. I'd stay again,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in Center of town close to lakeside

Posted May 2, 2017
The hotel has a lot of character and we liked the location. It is a dated hotel but our room was spacious with a high ceiling. The carpets are very worn and the bathroom tiles are ugly but overall the room was clean if old. We liked the breakfast area and what was offered.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brussels Belgium

Decent location but the place needs new carpeting

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Please ok but won't recommend it! Old carpeting makes it unsanitary. Breakfast is expensive 15 Swiss francs for offering a limited buffet- staff friendly and polite-
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older hotel great location

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: The entrance, reception area, quaint décor, European Med experience balcony. Mad bathroom décor.
Cons: Staff very robotic and unhappy. Actual bedroom needs loving and careful refit.
Location: Pretty central. Lake and stunning walk to town or castle meters away. Shops and main street runs from railway to (almost) street behind hotel.
Hotel is old but full of charm. The lift, the radiators, the bathrooms, the little balconies - all euro quaint. Getting there is easy. From train station right cross the road are Jacobs steps/escalator. Go down these - turn left at the bottom (Av De Casino) and walk that direction for about 5/6 minutes hotel is near casino and will be on your left. On your way you will see the lake to your right, tourist info office and Freddie Mercury Statue (He lived here.) Alternatively turn left at bottom of escalator and walk to the nearest bus stop (a few seconds) and get on any bus going in that direction (Every few minutes) Get of at Casino stop - do not cross the road. (This stop is slightly past but right beside your hotel so go back in the direction the bus came from (a few meters) Hotel entrance is on right up the large wide staircase.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western Australia.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
This Hotel's glory days were long ago, but I very much enjoyed it's old time charm, the grand entrance staircase, historic photos, large rooms and squeaky floorboards. It is well located, my room warm, the bed comfortable, the breakfast good and the price very reasonable. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed my one night stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Convenient

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Cons: Rooms should be properly checked to ensure they are fully usable, presentable & comfortable.
The bedroom windows did not close properly and it was very cold. The hotel was unable to change the room so the window had to be propped closed with a suitcase. It was not a nice experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Big family two bedroom.

Posted Dec 30, 2016
The room we were in is very good for families. Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old world charm and close to the lake

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel with old world charm. Close to everything. Friendly and helpful staff. Would stay there again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Anna from San Diego

The BEST hotel room & service in Europe!

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
My location was perfect, the staff was friendly and eager to serve, plus the room was the largest and most comfortable of all my stays after 1 month in Europe!