Ratings based on 282 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Sara

beautiful lake view!

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
loved my lake view! It was awesome! Breakfast was great too and friendly staff as well!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Montreux!!!!

Posted Jan 16, 2017
This was our first visit to Switzerland and the only bad thing we can say about it is that it was only for 3 nights. Everybody was so friendly and helpful at the hotel. The local bus stops right outside the hotel and the train station was less than 10 minutes walk. View from our room over the lake was stunning!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing view of Lake Geneva

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights as part of a special birthday surprise for my husband. We had a de-luxe room with a balcony overlooking beautiful Lake Geneva. The view was amazing. We found the staff to be courteous and polite. We enjoyed dinner at the hotel when we arrived and breakfast the next two mornings. We experienced a day and a half of rain but this did not spoil our stay. When the sun came out it was wonderful. We made full use of the complimentary transport tickets which were given to us at reception.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The view is just exquisite. But Renovations needed

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
This is a great place to. However, I specifically requested a firm mattress while making reservation, and instead it was a very soft mattress that gave us considerable back discomfort. The Bathroom needs upgrading both of the flooring as well as the walls and toilet seats. We came across a very odd situation one day it was Sept Friday 16th. My teenage son who accompanied me and his Mom, in a separate room, was in the Swimming Pool. Upon returning to his room, his backpack & shoes were nowhere!! He contacted Front Desk, and after 1/2 an hour they were returned claiming that Housekeeping made an error, thinking that his room was vacated, and the items removed were forgotten objects. When they clarified their error, they didn't try to make it up to us in anyway. Actually, at Check-Out after another 2 nights, the Front Desk gentleman, asked me to pay an extra CHF 350 above the total sum paid in advance, for breakfast & such. I had to remind him that upon checking-In, they had already reserved an additional CHF 700 from my credit Card, so that it was the Hotel that owed me CHF 350, not the other way around, to which he admitted his mistake. Finally, the walls between rooms need a great deal of improvement as regards sound insulation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
Hardware are really dated, specially the bathroom. No outlet for laptop on desk. One of the morning we left the "Please clean room" on our door when we left around 9am, but the room was not clean when we returned around 1pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2016
It was a great place to stay everything was well if I have a chance to visit Montreux again I will stay at Royal Plaza
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from India

Nice location Good Comfort

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Our stay for 3 nights was very comfortable and the views of Geneva Lake don our lake view room was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Nice hotel with amazing views!

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: The best things about the hotel were the staff, location and views.
Cons: prices for the restaurant are far too expensive and cost of breakfast too high (30 CHF each!).
Location: great location, 10 min walk to the station and a 15-20 min walk to the Freddie Mercury statue and casino.
On arrival at the hotel, we were greeted by a friendly member of staff who checked us in quickly. We were given a Riviera card each which allows us to use public transport for free and gives us discounts on different attractions. We didn't know about this so that was a bonus. The hotel is only a 10 min walk to the station. Our room was very clean and larger than we thought it would be. Plenty of space for 3 people. We had a large double bed with a spare pull out bed (deluxe room) with a lake view. The view was absolutely amazing and we had a nice big balcony to sit on whilst we ate breakfast. There was a small table on the balcony with 2 chairs, so my only complaint in the room would be that there should have been 3 chairs as there were 3 of us. We just took one of the chairs from inside. There were tea and coffee making facilities, free and some at a charge. You are given teabags and instant coffee for free, but there are a charge for the coffee pods to use with the coffee machine (4 CHF). There is no kettle but you can ask for one. We just used the coffee machine to boil the water. You aren't given any milk so had to buy this at the supermarket. We didnt use the spa facilities as we simply didnt have the time and didnt go to any of the restaurants or bars as the prices were ridiculous (38 CHF for a burger!). The staff were brilliant and theres nothing that they wouldn't help with. Special praise to Mohammed at reception.
3 out of 5
by Basel

Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Hotels
It's not great and not bad either
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent view and location, a bit dated

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Dated hotel, which sometimes felt under staffed. Standard rooms are quite small. The hot breakfast was often not very warm. Views and location were excellent and the staff were very helpful!