Ratings based on 268 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing Hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2016
It was a great place to stay everything was well if I have a chance to visit Montreux again I will stay at Royal Plaza
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from India

Nice location Good Comfort

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Our stay for 3 nights was very comfortable and the views of Geneva Lake don our lake view room was amazing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Nice hotel with amazing views!

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: The best things about the hotel were the staff, location and views.
Cons: prices for the restaurant are far too expensive and cost of breakfast too high (30 CHF each!).
Location: great location, 10 min walk to the station and a 15-20 min walk to the Freddie Mercury statue and casino.
On arrival at the hotel, we were greeted by a friendly member of staff who checked us in quickly. We were given a Riviera card each which allows us to use public transport for free and gives us discounts on different attractions. We didn't know about this so that was a bonus. The hotel is only a 10 min walk to the station. Our room was very clean and larger than we thought it would be. Plenty of space for 3 people. We had a large double bed with a spare pull out bed (deluxe room) with a lake view. The view was absolutely amazing and we had a nice big balcony to sit on whilst we ate breakfast. There was a small table on the balcony with 2 chairs, so my only complaint in the room would be that there should have been 3 chairs as there were 3 of us. We just took one of the chairs from inside. There were tea and coffee making facilities, free and some at a charge. You are given teabags and instant coffee for free, but there are a charge for the coffee pods to use with the coffee machine (4 CHF). There is no kettle but you can ask for one. We just used the coffee machine to boil the water. You aren't given any milk so had to buy this at the supermarket. We didnt use the spa facilities as we simply didnt have the time and didnt go to any of the restaurants or bars as the prices were ridiculous (38 CHF for a burger!). The staff were brilliant and theres nothing that they wouldn't help with. Special praise to Mohammed at reception.
3 out of 5
by Basel

Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Hotels
It's not great and not bad either
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent view and location, a bit dated

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Dated hotel, which sometimes felt under staffed. Standard rooms are quite small. The hot breakfast was often not very warm. Views and location were excellent and the staff were very helpful!
2 out of 5
by Abdullah

Not 5-stars at all

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel condition is very bad , old , 2 elevator to my room.
4 out of 5
by Clifford from Highlands Ranch

Stay in Martigny

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was beautiful and in a beautiful location. The only problem I had was that you had to pay for everything else like parking which was expensive and breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Liechtenstein

In die Jahre gekommenes Hotel an Top-Lage

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Gefallen hat uns die absolute Top-Lage gleich neben dem Kongresszentrum. Ideal während des Jazz-Festivals.
Cons: Reinigung der Zimmer bitte besser und zuverlässiger.
Location: Direkt am See, neben dem Kongresshaus. Viele Ausflugsmöglichkeiten.
Das Preis-Leistungsverhältnis war ungenügend, unter einem 5-Stern Hotel verstehe ich etwas anderes. Unsere "Junior-Suite" stellte sich als normales Doppel mit Balkon heraus, Wechsel wegen Vollbelegung nicht möglich. Das Personal schien uns (evtl.wegen Jazz-Festival?) völlig überfordert. Das Zimmer wurde teilweise sehr schlecht gereinigt.Ich nehme an, man sparte trotz Hochsaison und entsprechenden Preisen am Personal. Das ganze Hotel hat dringend eine Renovation nötig. Zerschlissene Tapeten, fleckiger Teppichboden im Zimmer, allgemein schmudelig (Sonnenstoren schwarz verfärbt) und teilweise unappetitlich. Auf keinen Fall ein 5-Stern Haus, wenn man vom Preis absieht!
4 out of 5
by guillaume from Gex

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
nous allons au Plaza depuis de nombreuses années à l'occassion du Jazz festival de Montreux , situé à 50 m des salles de concert . C'est le service au bar intérieur et exterieur qui laisse à désirer , manque d'organisation et de disponibilité , on peut rester 3/4 h sans que personne s'occupe de vous ! A améliorer d'urgence car c'est récurrent cette année , c'était idem il y a 15 jours ...dommage car les clients grognent !!!
4 out of 5
by Jale from Schweiz

himmlischer Ausblick auf die Berge + auf den See

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
Wir waren während des Montreux Jazz Festival in diesem Hotel. Es entspricht nicht einer 5* aber ein sehr gutes 4* Hotel. Unser Zimmer war sehr gross mit Sitzecke und möbliertes Balkon. Es ist im Zentrum - neben der Konzerthalle. Vom Hotel sind sie direkt auf der Promenade Seeseite oder an der Hauptstrasse bei den vielen guten Einkaufsläden und Restaurants. Der Service im Hotel war während dieser Festival überfordert. Extrem lange Wartezeit jeweils am Bar am Abend. Auch im Rezeption klappte nicht alles am 1. Tag. Wir fanden es auch übertrieben, dass der Parkinggebühr während dieser Zeit auch für die Gäste erhöht wurde und sehr überteuert ist (40.- CHF pro Tag) So oder so.. Wir können es nur empfehlen und werden sicherlich wiederkommen.