Ratings based on 934 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CO

3rd floor room

Posted Apr 19, 2017
We stayed 3 nights on the 3rd floor. The 4th floor was under renovation. The rooms were spacious and beds were pillowtop and comfy. My complaints: i left the tag on our door for cleaning and nothing was cleaned. The bed was remade and that was it. I don't suggest staying on the third floor while under construction. They started at 8 am and blared music. I understand you have work to be done, but we asked for the top floor and was told we would be on the 4th floor and was not told till we arrived that is was closed. I did notify the front desk and the music was turned off. Staff was friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast include juice muffins and fruit. They have a cute bar with bites and love music on the weekends. Overall without the construction it was a great location and stay for my whole family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Jamie Smith, Hotel Management
Greetings Diana, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at the Queensbury Hotel. Thank you for highlighting our live entertainment, the bar, breakfast and most importantly the staff as they work hard to exceed guest expectations! We are certainly glad you were able to experience all of the things we have to offer! I'm glad to hear the Front Desk was able to quickly resolve the music from the 4th floor, however I apologize you were not informed of the construction ahead of time. Again, thank you for taking the time to post your review. We certainly hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Thank you, Jamie Smith Rooms Division Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful old hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2017
This beautiful old hotel has been updated but still holds original charm. We thoroughly enjoyed the building, staff, pub, and the easy walk to everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Mike R, Hotel Management
Hello Anonymous, Thank you for taking time to review our property. We were happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and staff. As you mentioned, we are currently under renovations but we still aim to keep the original historic aspect of the building. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from asheboro NC

Hotel was ok

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Music in lobby both evenings was loud. Rooms were comfortable but dated. I found bugs in shower - not sure if drain bugs or what - let desk clerk know - apologized but nothing else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by Jamie Smith , Hotel Management
Greetings, Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to post your review. I'm glad to hear that you found our rooms comfortable. As you may have noticed we are in the midst of a multi-year renovation project of the entire hotel. Each guest room and bathroom will be renovated and receive new furniture. I apologize you may have found bugs in your shower, this is certainly unacceptable. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your stay in further detail. Again, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Thank you, Jamie Smith Rooms Division Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saranac Lake, NY

Classy and comfortable hotel on park

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Classic grand old dame now sparkling and rejuvenated.
Cons: Hotel is being quietly completely renovated,
Location: Talullah's, Davidson Brothers and Morgans, for the best dinners. All 3 minutes walk away. Lovely park with bandshell in front of hotel.
What a gem, and it's being polished up! We loved our two rooms, with comfy new beds. Linens and pillows matter, along with spotless bathrooms. I had a wonderful view of the mountains. The lobby is the real draw...sweeping marble, piano playing, happy families in the pool, Fenimore's buzzing with laughter and talk. Loved it all and we'll be back for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2017 by Jamie Smith, Hotel Management
Greetings, Thank you for your recent stay with us and taking the time to post such a great review of the hotel. The hotel was purchased in March 2016 and is now under local ownership for the first time in 60 years! Since March we have worked very hard to update and renovate while embellishing the historical aspects and we are delighted to hear you noticed! We have a lot more changes that will take place and we look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy them! Thank you, Jamie Smith Rooms Division Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Good location, classic hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Good location, within walking distance to restaurants. Classic old building with interesting interior architecture. Nice employee with shuttle bus pi
Cons: the heating unit in the room is loud. We turned it off at night though it got a bit cold, and the grab'n'go breakfast was unhealthy - sugary pastries
Location: glens falls restaurants, west mt. ski area, decent little area.Many people but no one is skiing? Very little lift line even with all the people.
Good location, within walking distance to restaurants. Classic old building with interesting interior architecture. Nice employee with shuttle bus picked me up from ski area which was a plus. Only minuses were the heating unit in the room is loud. We turned it off at night though it got a bit cold, and the grab'n'go breakfast was unhealthy - mostly sugary pastries and a melon-laden fruit salad with very little non-melon, such as pineapple and grapes. We ordered oatmeal from the restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by mrogers@thequeensburyhotel.com, Hotel Management
Hello David, Thank you for taking time to review our property, and we were happy to see that you had enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned, we offer shuttle services to our guests around the region, whether it is going to West Mountain or Lake George, and it seems to be a big hit with our guests. We apologize for the heating unit in the room not working properly, and maintenance has been notified in order to check the heating unit and make sure its working correctly. Once again, thank you for taking time to review our property and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Overall it is a nice hotel with indoor little pool. Clean room, easy access from highway, located in the center of the town. But the breakfast is terrible. Muffins and mixed fruits...
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Michael Rogers, Hotel Management
Hello Kevin, Thank you for taking time to review our property, and we were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do apologize that you did not find our continental breakfast to your liking, and we hope to see you again in the future to make up for it. Once again, thank you for staying with us and have a wonderful day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colonie, NY

Historic, stately hotel, very convenient!

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Room ambiance, comfort of bed, pool/Jacuzzi area, grand lobby.
Location: Very centrally located, walking distance to shops, restaurants, Glens Falls Civic Center, very close driving distance to West Mountain!
Centrally located in the heart of Glens Falls, walking distance to several restaurants, plenty of off street parking. Pool and Jacuzzi area was relaxing and enjoyable. Spent time in the beautiful, grand lobby sitting in front of the inviting fireplace. Loved the ornate woodwork. King size bed was extremely comfortable! Staff were personable, friendly and helpful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Michael Rogers, Hotel Management
Hello Jennifer, Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and we are very happy that you had a wonderful time! Our staff strives to be as personable and friendly as possible to our guests, so we were glad to hear that they were so accommodating. Being so close to downtown Glens Falls is definitely a perk, with a variety of shops and restaurants just a walking distance away. We look forward to seeing you again, and don't forget that we offer ski packages to West Mountain next time you're in the area and want to visit the mountain again. Have a wonderful day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel in the middle of it all

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Spacious and very clean room
Cons: Bathrooms are a little small and the rooms could use a small table and chairs to sit and eat at.
Location: Plenty of activities in the general area: shopping downtown, restaurants in walking distance, as well as the civic center.
We were pleasantly surprised by how nice the hotel was. Our room was spacious and very clean even if the furnishings were a little older. I wish it had a small table and chairs to sit at because there is plenty of room for that in our room. The hotel was full of children and chaperones for various sporting events and other than the occasional outburst in the halls that was quickly quieted we didn't even know they were there. Staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Michael Rogers Assistant Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Chrissy, Thank you for choosing the Queensbury Hotel for your overnight stay. As you may have heard, the hotel was recently purchased by local ownership and it is our goal to accommodate our guests to the best of our ability. We apologize that the bathroom size was not as big as you would have liked it to be, but within the next few months we are planning to start our guest room renovations which include larger bathrooms and updated furniture. We appreciate feedback like this and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LakePlacid New York

Lovely restored old hotel. Elegant! friendly!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Everything Piano Food Deco Size of the room Clean
Cons: None
Location: Excellent Went to the outlets
We were greeted warmly. Given correct information. Elevator was always on the floor when we went to use it. Room was big and lovely Great taste in decorating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Michael Rogers Assistant Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Bernie, Thank you for joining us at the Queensbury Hotel and taking the time to post a review. I was glad to read that your room was to your satisfaction, and that are employees were able to accommodate any requests or questions that you had. Once again, thank you for taking time to post a review about our hotel, and we look forward to seeing you again!
4 out of 5
by Bob

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Room was clean, breakfast was cold cinnamon rolls & fruit...nothing else unless you wanted to pay extra. Our room was right by the elevator, very loud but otherwise comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Greetings Bob, Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review as well. We are happy to hear you thought the room was clean and comfortable. We are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy our complimentary grab and go breakfast and thought the room was noisy. I would be more than happy to discuss your stay with you further if you'd like. I do look forward to the chance of welcoming you back in the future to the hotel. Thank you, Jamie Smith Rooms Division Manager