Ratings based on 347 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Good hotel felt sorry for housekeeping

Posted Aug 8, 2017
My wife and I left for breakfast on the last morning of our 4 day stay. We left 5 dollars in singles for housekeeping. After our return back from breakfast to gather our things we noticed not only housekeeping was not in the room but 4 of the 5 singles we gone. We came out of the room and someone in the adjacent room that was standing outside told us that the manager was in our room and he told them he was just checking to see if we had left. The manager stole housekeeping money. We promptly came to the front desk and informed the man who was not the manager of what happened. He quickly went to the back and brought out another person who wasn't the man the folks from the other room described to me. I advised him of the situation and he promised me he would square it away later. I demand the money back which took out of his pocket and gave it to me. I went back to housekeeping and gave them the money directly. This is not right, the housekeeping people work hard for their money and to get scammed by the manager of the hotel is ridiculous. The fact that it was the actual manager who did this is beyond me. I was informed that the managers name was Ali. Please if you are going to stay here please hand any gratuity to the actual housekeeping staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent feedback. We take comments from our guests very seriously, as our goal is to always improve on meeting and exceeding our guests' expectations. We will make sure we earn your overall satisfaction on your next stay with us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from connecticut

don't leave money for staff just give it to them.

Posted Aug 7, 2017
A relative of the owner stole money that was left for the cleaning lady. My friend and his wife left some money for the cleaning lady and took a walk down the street. I was packing my car and noticed someone walk into the room with a hotel key and leave 2 mins later. When my friend got back from his walk he asked me if I noticed anyone come into the room because he left some money for the cleaning lady and it was gone except 1 dollar. I told him I saw one of the owners go into the room and come out. We went to the front office to complain and the theft and one of the owners got nervous that we knew what happen and said sorry and that he will take care of it. We made him give us back the money that was stolen and told him that he should not allow family members to take peoples money that was left as a tip for the cleaning people. When we were packing some of the employees heard that we went to the owner to complain and thanked us for it since we were told this happens quite often. Shame on the owners of this place for taking other peoples tip money which they work very hard for. I think Howard Johnson Corporate should investigate this motel location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback, we use our guests' reviews to help us identify aspects we need to improve. Whilst this is not the feedback we strive for, please know that your review will not go unnoticed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens, NY

Steps to main village

Posted Jul 19, 2017
The great part about this hotel is that you just cross the street and already in the main village with all the shops, eateries, etc. it is next to a club as well seafood spot. I think it's called the Lobster pot. As for the hotel, just be aware there is a cemetary in the back of the whole block, but wasn't freaked out. The pool is small so we didn't real check it out. Room is ok clean, I believe the rooms were just renovated. Also, it was musty probably because of the rain. There is no lock on top, but there is a deadbolt. Breakfast is from 6-9 I believe we didn't know and they still catered to us asking id we'd like bagels or anything else specific. There was coffe and cereal still out. My friends room the toilet got clogged and the door lock wasn't working so they changed their room right away. Service was great from the staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Great to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of our location. Thank you for staying here with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here at our hotel. It would be lovely to see you again. Kind regards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hudson Valley NY

Get what you pay for

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Let's start with the positives. First off this hotel is in the heart of Lake George and a minute walk to all the shops, bars, lake, etc. the staff was very accommodating and pleasant. The price was fantastic but it goes down hill from there. at checkin you sign the typical things one of them being no smoking or there's a $150 fee. As I walked into my room I was greeted with the foul odor of smoke. I also noticed the top lock was broken. I alerted the staff and they were quick to reassign me a new room. The smell was better, the locks worked but it had some bugs, the bed sheets weren't sized properly and there was a back to somebody's earing in the bed. I got a great deal on this hotel, read reviews about how it was updated recently and to disregard and old reviews. I highly recommend spending a little bit more, you will be happy you did.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey and for rating our hotel. We are working hard to correct all this issues you mentioned for the convenience of our valued guest in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from westchester, NY

Nice Hotel for the money and short stay

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Cheap, clean, new features, close to town
Cons: small rooms cannot be expanded, maybe additional hangar space in one of the corners
Location: Downtown with free parking, very close to everything in village and close to , beach, town water activities and excursion boats
Cheapest Motel in Lake George at the time, very small room, clean with new lighting, new TV & stand and small bathroom with new features. Looks like an old Motel that has been nicely re-furbished. Small size and lack of a closet would not make for a good long term stay. Very close to Village, walk to everything, nightclub only a few storefronts away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Your words mean a lot to us and will help us to recognize our strengths and weaknesses during the renovation process. We appreciate how you have let us know what areas of our service needs to be improved.We hope to give us a chance to serve you again and will experience the improvements we have made with our services.
2 out of 5
by Peter Schoenfeld

Less than average - you get what you pay for

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Uncomfortable bed, loud surroundings, unlandscaped property
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel.Know that your voice is important to us and that we are working hard to address these issues and improve upon the guest experience.We hope to see you again someday and to transform your opinion of our hotel and service.
4 out of 5
by Jose

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Our primary aim is to give you a comfortable and accommodating experience, and we are very pleased to hear of our success in this ambition.We are glad that we were able to meet your expectations of service and accommodations.We're all looking forward to your next visit.Kind regards.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location and Clean

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
Great staff were friendly and knowledgeable. Pet friendly. Very convenient location and quiet, centrally located.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

First room was full of cleaning stuff

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Room was changed then the new room had split door and all noises was coming from other side of the room we coulld not sleep whole night. Room #110
Cons: First dirt room was given then other room #110 had split door room and other room people was making noises and hi volume TV.r
Location: do not have
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels