Ratings based on 621 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Loved it!

Posted Apr 20, 2017
I loved the hot breakfast. Scrambled eggs? Are you kidding me? And sausages and ham. Yummy. If this place would just paint the doors to each room it could be a four star motel. The doors to each room are all dirty and gross. But the interior is clean and nice. They need to work on curb appeal. I would stay here again. Great Wi-Fi and great breakfast and clean room. Don't be put off by the dirty exterior doors! Let it go and enjoy the scrambled eggs! And they are very pet friendly!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Erin, Sounds like you found a hidden gem in our Quality Inn & Suites. Our breakfast is yummy, thank you for noticing! We're actually in the process of repainting the outside of our property and redoing all our walkways. Soon it will look good as new! It is our hope you'll come back and see all the changes we've made and we can visit with you again! Thanks for all your feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Silverthorne, CO

Friendly staff and pleasant stay!

Posted Apr 18, 2017
The staff was very friendly! The rooms were in pretty good shape but the bathroom was in dire need of remodeling and a coat of paint. The breakfast was good and the views from the breakfast room were gorgeous. While it may not be the most updated accommodations, it was a very good price and the service was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Caren, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your recent stay. We're delighted to know that you received friendly service throughout your visit and we would expect nothing less. We agree that it is time for a change, and are pleased to announce that we're preparing to make some exciting updates to our accommodations. It's flattering to know that even though we may be showing our age a bit, we provided you with good value and well-maintained room. Our hope is that all other aspects of your stay were enjoyable. We appreciate your comments and would love to host you again during your next visit to Lake Havasu.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder, CO

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Average hotel with helpful front desk people. When we first checked in, had to change rooms due to cigar smoke smell in non-smoking room. Pool area was clean, but needs more lounge chairs. Several seats were torn and sun rotted. Free breakfast was good. We ate dinner in the onsite restaurant first night. Avoid that, if possible. Good service but terrible food. Lots of better options across the street or at London Bridge 5 minutes away. Lots of street noise on either side of the hotel, but it does quiet down late at night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Christine, Thank you for sharing details with us from your recent stay. It is our goal to provide fresh accommodations for our guests. We regret any inconvenience caused by switching rooms, and are glad the issue was resolved appropriately. We plan to question, however, why a designated non-smoking room did not appear to meet that standard. It's great to know our pool area was clean, and appreciate you bringing the lounge chair issues to our attention. We're sorry to hear that our onsite restaurant wasn't what you expected. However, we're glad that you received good service, and that you enjoyed the restaurant options nearby. We're pleased that noise didn't disturb your rest, and that our staff was friendly and helpful. Constructive feedback is always appreciated, and we look forward to seeing you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Good value for the price

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Clean room, beds are pretty comfortable too. Good hotel if you are looking for something that doesn't break the bank but still decent. The only issue was that the water pressure in the shower was almost nothing. I could barely wash the shampoo out of my hair. WiFi was very weak in building #3. I wouldn't recommend it if you have to use it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Monika, We appreciate you taking the time to leave us these comments, and let us know about your stay. Here at the Quality Inn & Suites Lake Havasu, we strive to provide guests with a good balance of comfort and affordability. We're sorry that you had issues with the shower and the wifi, and we will do what we can to improve on this in the future. It's our sincere hope that we see you again next time you're in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2017
It was very comfortable and very convenient. We would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
It's always great news to hear our guests will be coming back to see us in the future! We're happy your stay was both comfortable and convenient. We work hard to ensure our guests are well taken care of. We can not wait to see you again! Safe travels!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Hotel was close for driving to London bridge area. Travelling on Havasu Blvd takes you across the bridge. From highway 95 you only have access under the bridge. Free parking everywhere it seemed. We had two beautiful days in the area. Internet not accessible in building four but could access in hotel lobby. We ate in hotel bar in evening (Monday the dining room was not open so disappointing). Only one waitress and one cook so waited over an hour for food and the place not even busy. The staff was apologetic for our wait. Dining room open for breakfast and was lovely place with good food. )
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
We appreciate you choosing to stay at the Quality Inn & Suites, and we are so happy to know that you were able to enjoy two beautiful days with us. We are pleased to know that our location and the free parking availability made getting around more convenient. Once again, we would like to apologize for the longer wait times in the restaurant, but we hope you enjoyed your dinner as much as the breakfast. Thank you for your great review, and we hope that you will return to visit soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great hotel for the money.

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: The price, breakfast, and pool.
Location: Great location. View of mountains and Lake from our room. Close by to the London Bridge.
We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The breakfasts were tasty. The pool was delightful and the water was warm.The staff was helpful and pleasant. It's not fancy, but very adequate. The bed was very comfortable and linens were wonderful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Maureen, We're delighted to receive your positive review! It's so wonderful knowing how much you enjoyed our wonderful pool, comfortable accommodations, and tasty breakfast. We agree that our views are beautiful and are glad they enhanced the enjoyment of your stay. It's a pleasure providing you with an enjoyable stay at affordable rates, and we'd be honored to host you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

served our purpose.Just what we were looking for.

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Great location near lake and London Bridge.Rooms clean and comfortable.Thought first floor rooms would be street level,but had to climb down flight of stairs-basement level.Staff friendly and courteous,very pleasant.Pool clean and in good shape.Breakfast very nice with choices to please all.Great value lodging.Will be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Marley, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback about your recent stay with us in Lake Havasu. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our pool, breakfast, and location near the lake and London Bridge. We are especially thankful for your kind words about our staff. We apologize that the floor level was not what you expected, and in the future, we will do our best to provide you with rooms on the level that is most convenient for you. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from apple valley CA.

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Cons: Badly in need of cleaning and maintenance.
passageways to the rooms are very unappealing. The rooms are minimally comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Bill, Thank you for your helpful feedback. Good news! We are getting ready to redo the walkways, and we hope you'll come back and see them once they are done. We are sorry to hear that you were not comfortable in your room, though. Did you let the front desk know of your trouble? It would be helpful to know what the main complaint might have been. We'd like the chance to make this up to you if you consider booking with us again! Please come back soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great room, questionable customer service

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Our stay here was ruined by a drastic overcharge that could not be fixed by the hotel itself even when speaking to a manager. Limited how much we had to spend on food etc for the rest of the trip. Room and facilities were great, but the customer service was severely lacking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your stay with us. We're sorry to hear that your stay with us was marred by an overcharge issue. We understand how long it takes to save up for a wonderful trip, and it saddens us to know that this unresolved issue curtailed spending for the rest of your trip. Our team strives to provide excellent customer service, and we apologize that you didn't experience that. We were glad, however, to know that our accommodations, otherwise met your expectations. We value your constructive comments and hope for another chance to provide you with the enjoyable stay you deserve.