Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

room with a view

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: What you are buying here is the view.
Cons: Hotel needs to place screens on the windows and sliding doors so you can enjoy the night air. Coffee in the rooms. Exterior maintenance on decks.
Great view from the room's deck. has a nice menu with great views as well. Bathroom was nicely remodeled and the bed comfortable. Since the room has no fan and the night so cool out we opened the door and window for the fresh air. Unfortunately we became inundated with some type of flying bugs drawn to the lights. I would recommend to the hotel that they invest in some screens so you can enjoy the cool mountain air. The restaurant was suppose t open at 7:30 and there was a cold buffet layer out, but no one available to take orders for the hot breakfast. Around 8 am the staff began to appear. This is the only facility we stayed at on our 2 week vacation that did not supply the makings for fresh coffee. Only instant coffee was available in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

1 night beautiful view

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Magnificent view and lovely accommodation! Easy walk to closest shop and late checkout wasn't a problem!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great view.

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
Relaxing. Beautiful views. Good service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: view, comfortable beds
Cons: light coming in from the glass from the front door, woke us up very early.
Location: lake and walks
Very enjoyable stay, beautiful view and location, friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice view and relaxing environment.

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The view from room colony is a killer.
Cons: Room facility
Location: The nearest town is 15Km away.
Nice view, relaxing environment and hotel staffs are friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Definitely best place to stay at Lake Hawea NZ.

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
We had an amazing stay at Lake Hawea at this beautiful place with stunning views from balcony right over lake. Can't praise it enough and would love to come back. Definitely 10 out of 10 and would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you so much. Restaurant was great and terrific staff. We stayed December 2016.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One if the best hotel near Wanaka area

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
The stay is terrific. Will definitely come back! The hotel is very well maintain, new and comfort beds.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stunning views!

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
We really enjoyed the one night we spent in this hotel. The room was spacious and the scenery was incredible. We loved the patio and view of the lake. The parking immediately outside the room door was very convenient. We were there in October when it is still pretty cold out and our room was uncomfortably cold. It took a long time for the small wall heater (which was off when we arrived) to bring any warmth to the room. The bed does have electric blankets, which helped. Make sure to have cozy clothing if you are going to be in the room for much time. The check in and restaurant staff were very friendly and engaging, though the food wasn't great. Make time for dinner in Wanaka if you are heading this way.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome views over a beautiful lake.

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
Great place to stay. You couldn't get a better view of the lake with the mountains. The room is 2 levels with 4 beds. Had a nice deck with chairs. The restaurant was excellent! Nice big fireplace. Great food and service. We went to the puzzle attraction in Wanaka. I enjoyed it almost as much as my 16 year old. It was nice being out of the busier town of Wanaka.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Beautiful view from the room to snow capped mountain over lake Hawea. Despite the aging look from outside, the room is clean and very roomy. Bathroom newly renovated so it's modern and clean.